Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Race: Rosberg Romps To German Win

2014-07-20 15:56:00



Race: Rosberg Romps To German Win

Nico Rosberg raced to an uncontested victory at the German GP while his team-mate Lewis Hamilton was left to provide all the excitement.

Rosberg, having taken pole position on Saturday, raced from lights to flag, securing his first ever German Grand Prix victory.

It was an easy stroll for the Championship leader, who now holds a 14-point advantage in the standings.

Valtteri Bottas held off a stern challenge from Hamilton to finish second, his third podium finish in as many races.

Bottas, in fact, proved to be the only driver Hamilton could not pass on Sunday.

The Brit finished in a highly impressive third place despite starting the grand prix down in 20th.

The Mercedes driver was undoubtedly the most aggressive on the day and stormed by his rivals at the hairpin including a move on Daniel Ricciardo and Kimi Raikkonen at the same time.

However, one attack too many almost ended in disaster when he tried a late lunge on Jenson Button that resulted in a broken front wing for the Mercedes driver. That, though, did little to hamper his pace and he stormed to third.

Sebastian Vettel brought his RB10 home in fourth place as he too had an exciting afternoon even taking on the Ferraris in one corner and winning that battle.

Alonso was fifth having overtaken Daniel Ricciardo with five to go while Nico Hulkenberg continued his points-scoring run in seventh place ahead of Jenson Button and Kevin Magnussen.

Sergio Perez, who was involved in an incident early in the race with Daniil Kyvat, completed the top ten.

Four drivers failed to reach the chequered flag with Felipe Massa the first casualty.

The Williams driver was tagged by Kevin Magnussen as they went through the first corner on lap 1. The impact flipped the FW36 and the car skidden across the run-off area before landing back on all four wheels. Massa was unhurt but out of the race.

He was joined on the sidelines by Romain Grosjean, who had a "problem with the power" and pulled off on lap 28. Kvyat became the third retirement when his Toro Rosso caught fire on lap 46 while Adrian Sutil spun and stalled in the middle of the track on lap 50.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h33m42.914s
02 Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes +20.789s
03 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +22.530s
04 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault +44.014s
05 Fernando Alonso Ferrari +52.467s
06 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault +52.549s
07 Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes +1m04.178s
08 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes +1m24.711s
09 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes +1 lap
10 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes +1 lap
11 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +1 lap
12 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault +1 lap
13 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault +1 lap
14 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari +1 lap
15 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari +1 lap
16 Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault +2 laps
17 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari +2 laps
19 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault +2 laps
Did not finish
Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes
Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault
Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
Adrian Sutil

Wet Race Day At Suzuka

Editor's Picks

10 Reasons For Three-Car Teams

10 Reasons For Three-Car Teams

What's not to like about three-car teams? Bernie's suggestion has been dismissed by the purists, but it would tighten up the racing...

Winners & Losers: Singapore

Winners & Losers: Singapore

Lewis may have beaten Nico by 33 centimetres on Saturday, but on Sunday he finished 47 laps down the road...

Getting To Know Marchionne

Getting To Know Marchionne

Ferrari fans needn't be worried about Sergio Marchionne - he comes with a pedigree of turning round businesses...

Highlights Of Luca's Tenure

Highlights Of Luca's Tenure

Luca di Montezemolo is Ferrari through and through, from spending time as Enzo Ferrari's assistant to assuming control in 1991...

Tin Foil Hats At The Ready

Tin Foil Hats At The Ready

Twice this season Lewis Hamilton has accused Nico Rosberg of deliberately making a mistake. Was Monza number three?