Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac Three: Vettel blitzes rivals

Saturday 13th October 2012



Prac Three: Vettel blitzes rivals

Prac Three: Vettel blitzes rivals

Sebastian Vettel went quickest and quicker still as the German laid down his marker in final practice for the Korean GP.

Intent on catching Fernando Alonso in the Championship race, the Red Bull driver was the man to beat in final practice, clocking a 1:37.642.

That easily put him top by 0.527s over McLaren's Lewis Hamilton. As for Alonso, he was sixth and a full second slower than Vettel.

After the initial installation laps, silence descended over the Yeongam circuit as once again it was very dusty out on track and everyone was waiting for everyone else to clean it.

Kimi Raikkonen, who will continue to run the Coanda-effect exhaust this weekend, got proceedings underway with a small wobble and a slow 1:46.111 before he was dropped by Daniel Ricciardo.

That sparked a run of their rivals with Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber hitting the front before Fernando Alonso slipped his Ferrari between the two Red Bulls. That was the top three at the halfway point although there were still no times from either McLaren driver.

It changed soon after as Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton both ventured out, taking ninth and second place respectively. They worked their way to the front with Hamilton going quickest with a 1:38.464, three-tenths up on Webber.

The Red Bulls and McLarens then traded blows with the Ferraris and Lotus occasionally mixing it up in the top four while the Mercedes cars also tried to get involved in the fight up at the front.

However, at the end of the 60 minutes - and with the drivers on the supersoft tyres - it was all Vettel, who had lowered the benchmark time to a 1:37.970 and then to a 1:37.642. Hamilton was second, 0.527s down while Button was third.

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:37.642 17 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:38.169 0.527 12 laps
3 Jenson Button McLaren 1:38.511 0.869 13 laps
4 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:38.582 0.940 16 laps
5 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:38.666 1.024 18 laps
6 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:38.705 1.063 12 laps
7 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:38.766 1.124 7 laps
8 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:38.791 1.149 13 laps
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:38.833 1.191 16 laps
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:38.932 1.290 17 laps
11 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:38.954 1.312 17 laps
12 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:39.010 1.368 20 laps
13 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:39.150 1.508 18 laps
14 Paul di Resta Force India 1:39.156 1.514 18 laps
15 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:39.345 1.703 14 laps
16 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:39.448 1.806 17 laps
17 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:39.537 1.895 18 laps
18 Bruno Senna Williams 1:39.706 2.064 18 laps
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:41.114 3.472 14 laps
20 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:41.437 3.795 19 laps
21 Charles Pic Marussia 1:41.684 4.042 16 laps
22 Timo Glock Marussia 1:42.062 4.420 15 laps
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:42.845 5.203 15 laps
24 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:42.882 5.240 14 laps

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run