Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac One: Hamilton edges ahead

Friday 20th April 2012



Prac One: Hamilton edges ahead

Prac One: Hamilton edges ahead

Lewis Hamilton was the man to beat as the controversial Bahrain GP weekend kicked off on Friday morning with first practice.

Despite protests and on-going safety concerns, Formula One was in action at the Sakhir circuit on Friday in a session dominated by Hamilton and a resurgent Sebastian Vettel.

As to be expected it was a slow start to Practice One as the big boys waited for those further down the order to clean the track of the dust and sand.

As such, Force India's Nico Hulkenberg held the P1 slot before losing out to Lotus' Romain Grosjean and then Kimi Raikkonen.

It was all change, though, as Sebastian Vettel, who has reverted to the new exhaust layout instead of the Barcelona testing config that did little to help him in China, went quickest.

The German held onto the P1 slot for a few minutes before he lost out to McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

The Championship leader went quickest with a 1:33.572.

Hamilton's time proved to be unbeatable with the Brit finishing the session three-tenths ahead of Vettel.

Paul di Resta, using the soft Pirelli tyres, was third ahead of Nico Rosberg, Jenson Button and Nico Hulkenberg, the latter also opting for a soft tyre run late in the session.

In fact, the Force Indias were the only leading drivers to use soft tyres with some reports suggesting it could be because the team is planning to leave the circuit early in order to avoid any demonstrations that may be timed for when the teams are actually expected to leave.

01 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:33.572 11 laps
02 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:33.877 0.305 21 laps
03 Paul di Resta Force India 1:34.150 0.578 26 laps
04 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:34.249 0.677 23 laps
05 Jenson Button McLaren 1:34.277 0.705 14 laps
06 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:34.344 0.772 26 laps
07 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:34.483 0.911 17 laps
08 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:34.552 0.980 22 laps
09 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:34.609 1.037 18 laps
10 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:34.847 1.275 20 laps
11 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:35.024 1.452 22 laps
12 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:35.268 1.696 25 laps
13 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:35.436 1.864 21 laps
14 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:35.497 1.925 24 laps
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:35.719 2.147 19 laps
16 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:35.929 2.357 24 laps
17 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:36.195 2.63 20 laps
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:36.330 2.758 11 laps
19 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:36.484 2.912 18 laps
20 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:36.591 3.019 20 laps
21 Charles Pic Marussia 1:37.467 3.895 18 laps
22 Timo Glock Marussia 1:38.006 4.434 18 laps
23 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:38.877 5.305 19 laps
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:39.996 6.424 23 laps

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run