Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac Three: Rosberg's reign continues

Saturday 21st April 2012



Prac Three: Rosberg's reign continues

Prac Three: Rosberg's reign continues

Nico Rosberg is having a fine time of things this season as the German claimed yet another P1 in Bahrain on Saturday.

Formula One's newest race winner clocked a 1:33.254 on his soft Pirelli tyres to edge a resurgent Red Bull Racing.

Sebastian Vettel was second quickest ahead of Mark Webber in what proved to be a very hot final practice at the Sakhir circuit.

The action got underway under a dust haze and with the track temperature sitting at a sweltering 39'C and set to rise.

As to be expected, the Force India drivers set the early running as they were quickly down to business given the lost 90 minutes from Friday's FP2.

Paul di Resta set the early pace with a 1:35.348 with Nico Hulkenberg second before they were overhauled by the Lotus duo.

2007 World Champion Kimi Raikkonen and his team-mate Romain Grosjean had an interesting little battle as they traded blows and P1 times until the benchmark was down to a 1:34.401.

Sebastian Vettel was the driver who ended Lotus' reign as he took almost two-tenths off Grosjean's best while Michael Schumacher slotted into third place.

They were the leading trio at the halfway stage of the 60 minutes with Mark Webber and Raikkonen next in line.

With a switch to the soft tyres for the final twenty minutes, Toro Rosso's Daniel Ricciardo went P1 only to lose out to Schumacher who in turn was overhauled by Mico Rosberg. The benchmark was down to 1:33.254.

And although others ventured out with the soft Pirelli tyres there was no beating Rosberg's time.

Vettel came the closest, 0.147s off the pace while Webber was third, 0.409s adrift.

Lewis Hamilton, Schumacher, Jenson Button, Raikkonen and Daniel Ricciardo completed the top eight.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:33.254 14 laps
02 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:33.401 0.147 14 laps
03 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:33.663 0.409 15 laps
04 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:33.782 0.528 16 laps
05 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:33.796 0.542 16 laps
06 Jenson Button McLaren 1:33.899 0.645 14 laps
07 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:33.976 0.722 14 laps
08 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:34.197 0.943 14 laps
09 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:34.401 1.147 16 laps
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:34.895 1.641 11 laps
11 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:34.918 1.664 12 laps
12 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:34.977 1.723 12 laps
13 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:35.067 1.813 17 laps
14 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:35.128 1.874 14 laps
15 Paul di Resta Force India 1:35.336 2.082 22 laps
16 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:35.536 2.282 15 laps
17 Bruno Senna Williams 1:35.623 2.369 16 laps
18 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:35.694 2.440 19 laps
19 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:35.773 2.519 21 laps
20 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:36.532 3.278 17 laps
21 Charles Pic Marussia 1:37.267 4.013 18 laps
22 Timo Glock Marussia 1:37.654 4.400 18 laps
23 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:38.973 5.719 11 laps
24 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:39.221 5.967 9 laps

Related Links
Gallery: Saturday's action from Bahrain

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run