Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac Two: Button quickest in Barcelona

Friday 11th May 2012



Prac Two: Button quickest in Barcelona

Prac Two: Button quickest in Barcelona

Jenson Button proved to be the man to beat in Spain on Friday, clocking a 1:23.399 in his new nosey McLaren, which put him 0.164s up on Sebastian Vettel.

With the sun blazing down on the Circuit de Catalunya and the track temperature up to 42'C, the drivers quickly got down to business with Sergio Perez setting the early pace ahead of Vergne and Ricciardo.

They were soon dropped as Sebastian Vettel took the P1 slot ahead of Lewis Hamilton.

However, they too lost out as Michael Schumacher went quickest, leading the way after the first ten minutes - which saw 20 drivers post times - with a 1:24.859.

Fernando Alonso, whose Ferrari F2012 reportedly has "six or seven" big changes compared to the car raced in Bahrain, was the next to take the P1 slot with a 1:24.739 before he lost out to Vergne by over a second as the Toro Rosso driver was the first out on the softer option Pirelli tyres.

The tyres, worth more than a full second, then put Vettel top before Button hit the front with a 1:23.399.

As the drivers switched to longer runs and focused on their day's programmes, the Brit held onto the P1 slot and was still sitting there as the chequered flag was waved.

He finished the day with a 1:23.399, 0.164s up on Vettel while Rosberg was third, a further two-tenths down.

It was a largely uneventful session except for an off-track excursion from Mark Webber that deposited gravel on the track, Narain Karthikeyan breaking down at Turn 3 and several lock ups from the drivers as they pushed.

01 Jenson Button McLaren 1:23.399 38 laps
2 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:23.563 0.164 38 laps
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:23.771 0.372 41 laps
4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:23.909 0.510 32 laps
5 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:23.918 0.519 32 laps
6 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:23.964 0.565 37 laps
7 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:24.065 0.666 34 laps
8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:24.080 0.681 36 laps
9 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:24.214 0.815 41 laps
10 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:24.365 0.966 22 laps
11 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:24.418 1.019 35 laps
12 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:24.422 1.023 32 laps
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:24.468 1.069 40 laps
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:24.600 1.201 33 laps
15 Paul di Resta Force India 1:24.688 1.289 30 laps
16 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:24.733 1.334 34 laps
17 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:24.769 1.370 37 laps
18 Bruno Senna Williams 1:25.047 1.648 42 laps
19 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:26.296 2.897 36 laps
20 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:26.740 3.341 35 laps
21 Timo Glock Marussia 1:27.314 3.915 27 laps
22 Charles Pic Marussia 1:27.664 4.265 30 laps
23 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:28.235 4.836 26 laps
Narain Karthikeyan HRT 2 laps

Related Links
Gallery: The best of Friday's pictures
Pics: Getting nosey in Barcelona

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run