Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac One: Di Resta sets the pace

Friday 7th June 2013



Prac One: Di Resta sets the pace

Prac One: Di Resta sets the pace

Paul di Resta was in the right place at the right time, setting the fastest lap on a drying Circuit Gilles Villeneuve as the chequered flag fell on FP1.

It was a cold and wet start to Friday's first practice as heavy rain earlier in the morning had soaked the track. As such the drivers were slow getting down to business with Esteban Gutierrez posting the first time, a tentative 1:34.113 on his intermediate Pirelli tyres.

Half an hour into the session Mark Webber was on top of the timesheets with a 1:27.909, 1.3s up on Kimi Raikkonen who was ahead of Gutierrez and Jean-Eric Vergne. They were the only four to have set times.

Shortly after more drivers ventured out with Vergne hitting the front with a 1:26.436 while Nico Rosberg was second before overhauling the Toro Rosso driver. The Monaco GP winner posted a 1:26.051 and went on to lower the benchmark to a 1:24.902.

Jules Bianchi was the first casualty of the session as he went down the escape road at Turn 3. Unable to work his way out, he was told to turn off his MR02 before it got too hot. A bad start to the weekend for the French rookie.

Back in the action all the drivers barring Felipe Massa had set times. The Brazilian, who is using a new chassis this weekend after his Monaco crash, eventually made his mark on his fifth lap but was down in 17th place.

Lewis Hamilton had a moment as he was caught out as Mark Webber slowed down to enter the pits. The Mercedes driver had to take to the grass to avoid the back of the Red Bull racer. Hamilton went on to record the second best time, 0.152s down on Rosberg.

The German later ventured out for another run on the intermediates and upped his pace, putting in a fastest middle sector on his way to a 1:24.438. From there it was a 1:23.680 for Rosberg as a dry line began to appear. Sebastian Vettel climbed to second, 0.3s down. Having chipped away at Rosberg's time, Vettel finally went quickest with a 1:23.047.

As the track dried out, the drivers ventured out on the slick tyers, opting for either the medium tyres or the development Pirellis. Raikkonen climbed to second place, 0.6s down on Vettel, however, it was Jenson Button who beat them all, clocking a 1:21.511.

The yellow flags came out with four minutes to go as Pastor Maldonado had a big spin and hit the wall, breaking off the front wing of his FW35. This put paid to several drivers hot laps, however, they found the time at the end with Paul di Resta hitting the front with a 1:21.020. Button was second ahead of Romain Grosjean and Fernando Alonso.

01. Paul di Resta Force India 1m21.020 10 laps
02. Jenson Button McLaren 1m21.108 +0.088 20 laps
03. Romain Grosjean Lotus 1m21.258 +0.238 21 laps
04. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m21.308 +0.288 16 laps
05. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1m21.608 +0.588 22 laps
06. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1m22.068 +1.048 18 laps
07. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m22.402 +1.382 22 laps
08. Sergio Perez McLaren 1m22.587 +1.567 17 laps
09. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1m23.047 +2.027 26 laps
10. Mark Webber Red Bull 1m23.131 +2.111 16 laps
11. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m23.341 +2.321 13 laps
12. Valtteri Bottas Williams 1m23.352 +2.332 17 laps
13. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1m23.3e6 +2.366 19 laps
14. Adrian Sutil Force India 1m23.417 +2.397 19 laps
15. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1m23.957 +2.937 33 laps
16. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m25.054 +4.034 21 laps
17. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1m25.354 +4.334 22 laps
18. Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1m25.753 +4.733 21 laps
19. Max Chilton Marussia 1m25.821 +4.801 19 laps
20. Charles Pic Caterham 1m27.143 +6.123 20 laps
21. Pastor Maldonado Williams 1m27.522 +6.502 11 laps
22. Jules Bianchi Marussia 1m29.306 +8.286 8 laps

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run