Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac One: Late Starting Seb Quickest

Friday 26th July 2013



Prac One: Late Starting Seb Quickest

Prac One: Late Starting Seb Quickest

It made absolutely no difference that he only had 30 minutes of track time, Seb Vettel proved he's still the one to beat as he set the pace in FP1 in Budapest.

The Championship leader, who is seeking his first Hungarian GP victory this weekend, managed just two installation laps at the start of practice before a brake problem was found.

While his team worked on his RB9, Vettel was stuck in the pits as his rivals put in the laps on a very hot Hungaroring circuit.

With the track temperature climbing to 44'C, Kimi Raikkonen, Sergio Perez, Jenson Button, Romain Grosjean, Fernando Alonso and Mark Webber all spent time in the P1 slot before Vettel headed out and hit the front with 20 minutes remaining in the session.

His 1:22.723 proved to be unbeatable with Webber finishing second, 0.259s down, while Kimi Raikkonen was thrid, a further 0.028s down.

Alonso brought his Ferrari home in fourth place while Grosjean was fifth, both driverfs within four-tenths of Vettel's best.

Jenson Button was sixth for McLaren in the head ahead of Adrian Sutil, Nico Rosberg and Sergio Perez. Pastor Maldonado completed the top ten.

As for the new Pirelli tyres, which feature last year's constructions and this year's compounds, there appeared to be very few issues with Lotus only reporting a potential right-rear slow puncture on Raikkonen's E21 in the final minutes of the session.

01 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:22.723 19 laps
02 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:22.982 +0.259 24 laps
03 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:23.010 +0.287 20 laps
04 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:23.099 +0.376 22 laps
05 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:23.111 +0.388 20 laps
06 Jenson Button McLaren 1:23.370 +0.647 26 laps
07 Adrian Sutil Force India 1:23.390 +0.667 20 laps
08 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:23.531 +0.808 28 laps
09 Sergio Perez McLaren 1:23.591 +0.868 26 laps
10 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:23.911 +1.188 21 laps
11 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:24.119 +1.396 21 laps
12 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:24.150 +1.427 27 laps
13 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:24.157 +1.434 28 laps
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:24.204 +1.481 15 laps
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:24.299 +1.576 19 laps
16 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:24.314 +1.591 23 laps
17 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:24.383 +1.660 24 laps
18 Paul di Resta Force India 1:24.608 +1.885 21 laps
19 Charles Pic Caterham 1:25.827 +3.104 24 laps
20 Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1:26.808 +4.085 25 laps
21 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:27.617 +4.894 20 laps
22 Rodolfo Gonzalez Marussia 1:28.927 +6.204 25 laps

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run