Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac Two: A washout

Friday 31st August 2012



Prac Two: A washout

Prac Two: A washout

Practice Two for the Belgian GP was a washout without a single lap time set before the chequered flag - after it there were ten with Charles Pic quickest.

With a heavy shower hitting the track 15 minutes before the start of second practice, the Spa-Francorchamps circuit was more of a river than a race-track as FP2 got underway.

The teams and drivers opted to stay indoors where it was dry and safe especially as the rain is expected to abate before Saturday's final practice.

As the 90 minutes counted down there was little sign of the weather improving, prompting large portions of the crowd to even call it quits.

But with 40 minutes remaining the silence was broken as Nico Rosberg ventured out, soon followed by Michael Schumacher and Heikki Kovalainen, the latter of whom soon put his Caterham into a spin heading into Les Combes.

The Mercedes drivers put in a several laps without setting times before Rosberg pitted, leaving Schumacher alone on the track.

The German was joined by Lewis Hamilton, Sebastian Vettel, Jenson Button, Nico Hulkenberg and Felipe Massa bringing the total number of drivers to venture out up to eight with ten minutes to go.

Bruno Senna was a late runner as his put in his first lap of the day, having not contested the early practice as Williams test driver Valtteri Bottas was in action.

Several drivers came out in the final three minutes bringing the grand total of runners to 18.

And while they did their first and only run of the day 10 of them opted to set times with Charles Pic quickest ahead of Daniel Ricciardo and Fernando Alonso.

01 Charles Pic Marussia 2:49.354 4 laps
02 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 2:49.750 0.396 3 laps
03 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 2:50.497 1.143 3 laps
04 Paul di Resta Force India 2:51.333 1.979 3 laps
05 Pastor Maldonado Williams 2:51.660 2.306 4 laps
06 Timo Glock Marussia 2:52.076 2.722 4 laps
07 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 2:53.232 3.878 4 laps
08 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 2:58.232 8.878 3 laps
09 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 2:59.125 9.771 5 laps
10 Sergio Perez Sauber 3:12.901 23.547 4 laps

Related Links
Friday's gallery from Spa

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run