Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Prac Two: Hamilton quickest again

Friday 23rd November 2012



Prac Two: Hamilton quickest again

Prac Two: Hamilton quickest again

Lewis Hamilton made it two from two on Friday in Brazil as he again beat Sebastian Vettel, this time by 0.274s using the medium Pirelli tyres.

With the track temperature a sweltering 49'C, Practice Two got underway at the Interlagos circuit. In fact it was so hot out on track that after just 10 minutes of running Nico Hulkenberg reported that his rear tyres were "cooking."

Felipe Massa set the early pace as the drivers put in the laps on the harder option Pirelli tyres. The Brazilian was down to a 1:15.473, 0.121s up on Mark Webber and a further 0.005s quicker than Jenson Button.

But it was all-change as Fernando Alonso hit the front only to lose out to Sebastian Vettel who was right behind him on track. The German had the benchmark down to a 1:15.226. Button slotted in between the two title rivals, which was how the timesheets stood after the first 30 minutes.

After a brief break the Championship rivals returned to the action with Alonso up through the second sector before a mistake cost him. Alonso's second lap puts him top by 0.076s.

Romain Grosjean was the first driver to use the medium tyres and hit the front with a 1:14.994. He soon lost out to Nico Rosberg then Felipe Massa and then Lewis Hamilton. The McLaren driver lowered the benchmark to a 1:14.026 and was leading at the 60 minute mark.

Shortly after Vettel, who had dropped to 11th while in the pits, shot up the timesheets, putting in a fastst time in the first sector before losing ground in the second and third. He finished second, 0.274s down.

Meanwhile, Kamui Kobayashi, who this morning was dropped by Sauber for next season, had an airborne moment over the kerbs which he would have definitely felt. Charles Pic, in his last weekend as a Marussia driver, had an early shower as he parked his car with 20 minutes remaining.

Those final 20 minutes saw the drivers switch to heavier fuel loads, which meant they were lapping about 5.5s slower than their previous best times. Hamilton was doing some consistent 1:19.5s during the long runs while Alonso was about 1:19.9s and Vettel was jumping around by as much as a full second.

The session ended with Hamilton quickest ahead of Vettel and Webber.

01. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m14.026 35 laps
02. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m14.300 + 0.274 40 laps
03. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m14.523 + 0.497 37 laps
04. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m14.553 + 0.527 37 laps
05 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m14.592 + 0.566 37 laps
06. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m14.654 + 0.628 36 laps
07. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m14.669 + 0.643 40 laps
08. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m14.863 + 0.837 40 laps
09. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m14.994 + 0.968 37 laps
10. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m15.129 + 1.103 39 laps
11. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m15.131 + 1.105 40 laps
12. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 1m15.371 + 1.345 39 laps
13. Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1m15.432 + 1.406 45 laps
14. Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m15.542 + 1.516 35 laps
15. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m15.839 + 1.813 43 laps
16. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m15.902 + 1.876 39 laps
17. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1m15.953 + 1.927 47 laps
18. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m16.048 + 2.022 40 laps
19. Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1m16.126 + 2.100 39 laps
20. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1m16.655 + 2.629 42 laps
21. Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1m17.244 + 3.218 15 laps
22. Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1m17.675 + 3.649 42 laps
23. Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1m18.127 + 4.101 31 laps
24. Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m18.139 + 4.113 15 laps

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run