Prac Two: Vettel edges Alonso

Friday 10-May-2013 14:31

Sebastian Vettel narrowly beat Fernando Alonso to the P1 slot in Friday's second practice for the Spanish GP, 0.017s up on the Spaniard.

Conditions were much-improved at the start of second practice with the circuit completely dry and the track temperature up to 34'C. The drivers were quickly down to business with Sebastian Vettel posting the first timed lap, a 1:27.307, within the opening five minutes. Two minutes later four drivers, Nico Hulkenberg, Daniel Ricciardo, Esteban Gutierrez and Lewis Hamilton had all had a turn in the P1 slot.

After the initial spurt, many drivers returned to the pits and the timesheets had a chance to catch up. Hamilton was quickest with a 1:23.900 while Nico Rosberg was second ahead of Fernando Alonso.

However, when Hamilton headed back into the pits after a spin at Turn 11, Rosberg took control, edging his team-mate by 0.099s. Ten minutes the Red Bulls overhauled the Mercedes duo with Mark Webber hitting the front with Vettel 0.3s down in second. Alonso then got involved in the mix, taking the top spot by 0.082s over Webber while Massa improved to third place.

Just before the halfway stage the drivers began to switch to the medium tyres with Webber quickest only to be overhauled by Vettel. The Ferraris were next out with Massa taking fourth and Alonso second, the Spaniard just 0.017s down on Vettel's time.

Kimi Raikkonen broke the Red Bull/ Ferrari lock-out as his put his Lotus up into fourth place while Hamilton improved to sixth, doing his fastest time on his second lap on the medium tyres.

As the session wore on the drivers swapped to heavier fuel loads as they turned their focus to race pace. Lap after lap one could clearly see the wear on the tyres especially the left fronts which take a hammering at this circuit.

Concentrating on race pace meant Vettel finished P1, 0.017s up on Alonso while Webber by 0.083s off the pace.

Paul di Resta was the only driver not see the end of the session as he parked his Force India with 17 minutes remaining after his rear left completely delaminated. Di Resta was on a set of medium tyres that had completed 11 laps.

02 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:22.825 +0.017 35 laps
03 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:22.891 +0.083 36 laps
04 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:23.030 +0.222 32 laps
05 Felipe Mass Ferrari 1:23.110 +0.302 37 laps
06 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:23.140 +0.332 35 laps
07 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:23.398 +0.590 45 laps
08 Adrian Sutil Force India 1:23.840 +1.032 37 laps
09 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:24.058 +1.250 31 laps
10 Paul di Resta Force India 1:24.104 +1.296 25 laps
11 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:24.175 +1.367 32 laps
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:24.306 +1.498 35 laps
13 Sergio Perez McLaren 1:24.854 +2.046 31 laps
14 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:24.888 +2.080 38 laps
15 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:25.167 +2.359 38 laps
16 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:25.321 +2.513 32 laps
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:25.441 +2.633 37 laps
18 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:25.851 +3.043 35 laps
19 Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1:25.963 +3.155 30 laps
20 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:26.078 +3.270 31 laps
21 Charles Pic Caterham 1:26.930 +4.122 35 laps
22 Max Chilton Marussia 1:26.970 +4.162 25 laps

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.