Which drivers want which numbers

Thursday 19-December-2013 07:51

The likes of Fernando Alonso and Nico Rosberg have revealed which numbers they hope to have on their cars next year.

Formula One will introduce permanent driver numbers from 2014 onwards and the pack can select a number from 2 to 99 with number 1 reserved for the defending World Champion, if he wants to use it.

Early reports suggest that four-time Champion Sebastian Vettel will have the No 1 on his Red Bull chassis again next year.

Fernando Alonso finished second in the Drivers' standings so he gets second dibs and he has requested number 14 while Lewis Hamilton has given no indication yet which number he wants.

Others have also revealed their number preferences with Rosberg's first choice No 6 - which was used by his father Keke Rosberg when he won the title in 1982 - No 5 and No 9.

New Williams recruit Felipe Massa wants No 19 while his team-mate Valtteri Bottas has 77, 17 and 11 as his choices.

Force India's Perez is eyeing 11 while Jean-Eric Vergne from Toro Rosso wants 25, 21 and 27.

Number choices:

Red Bull
Sebastian Vettel: Yet to be revealed
Daniel Ricciardo: Yet to be revealed

Fernando Alonso: 14
Kimi Raikkonen: Yet to be revealed

Lewis Hamilton: Yet to be revealed
Nico Rosberg: 6, 5 or 9

Romain Grosjean: Yet to be revealed
Pastor Maldonado: Yet to be revealed

Jenson Button: Yet to be revealed
Kevin Magnussen: Yet to be revealed

Force India
Sergio Perez: 11
Nico Hulkenberg: Yet to be revealed

Adrian Sutil: Yet to be revealed

Toro Rosso
Jean-Eric Vergne: 25, 21 or 27
Daniil Kvyat: Yet to be revealed

Felipe Massa: 19
Valtteri Bottas: 77, 17 or 11

Jules Bianchi: 7, 27 or 77


© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.