Perez remains on top in Bahrain

Friday 28-February-2014 14:32

Sergio Perez made it two from two as he again set the pace during pre-season testing at the Sakhir circuit.

Quickest on Thursday, the Force India driver followed that up with a 1:35.570 during Friday's morning session.

His time proved unbeatable although Ferrari's Fernando Alonso came close. The double World Champ posted a 1:35.634 to finish just 0.064s behind the Mexican driver.

Alonso's day consisted of a race simulation in the afternoon, pit stops include, as he tallied up over a 100 laps on what was a good day for Ferrari.

And after a slow start it was also a good day for Red Bull Racing.

Covering just 15 laps in the morning in short bursts, Daniel Ricciardo was down in ninth place at lunch and a full five seconds off the pace.

However, in the afternoon's session, the Aussie was able to push harder and worked his way up to third, 0.173s off the pace. It was an encouraging display for the under-fire Red Bull team.

Felipe Massa was fourth quickest ahead of Jenson Button, who brought out the red flags in the morning when his MP4-29 lost drive. He finished the day 1.331s off the pace and ahead of Jules Bianchi and Lewis Hamilton.

Hamilton, however, was not on track as the chequered flag fell as, after 89 laps, a gearbox problem with his W05 cut short Mercedes' day.

Jean-Eric Vergne, Esteban Gutierrez and Pastor Maldonado, another driver to cause a stoppage, completed the top ten while at the bottom of the timesheets was Marcus Ericsson, responsible for the day's final red flag.

The rookie driver came to a smokey stop and marshals were quickly on hand with fire extinguishers. Caterham revealed "a technical issue caused a fire which was quickly put out."

01 Sergio Perez Force India 1:35.570 108 laps
02 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:35.634 +0.064 122 laps
03 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 1:35.743 +0.173 66 laps
04 Felipe Massa Williams 1:36.507 +0.937 103 laps
05 Jenson Button McLaren 1:36.901 +1.331 52 laps
06 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:38.092 +2.522 75 laps
07 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:39.041 +3.471 89 laps
08 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:39.636 +4.066 61 laps
09 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:39.976 +4.406 106 laps
10 Pastor Maldonado Lotus 1:41.613 +6.043 31 laps
11 Marcus Ericsson Caterham 1:42.516 +6.946 55 laps

Related Links
Day Two's Action In Bahrain

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.