Prac Two: Rosberg makes his mark

Friday 20-April-2012 13:35

Nico Rosberg jumped to the top of the timesheets in Bahrain as F1's newest race winner edged Mark Webber by almost half a second.

With the track temperature sitting at 40'C the drivers had to deal with hot - very hot - conditions on Friday afternoon.

Again it a slowish start compared to a normal FP2 as the backmarkers were given the task of cleaning the track.

Once that was done, Jenson Button ventured out and - after an off-track excursion on his first flying lap - went quickest with a 1:34.500.

In the next five minutes; Mark Webber, Nico Rosberg, Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel all had a turn in the P1 position with the benchmark down to a 1:33.639.

Vettel went on to lower the benchmark time only for Rosberg to set the timing screens alight on his way to a 1:32.816. Webber improved to second.

With the track temperature falling by over six degrees in the second half of the session, drivers struggled to match their early times.

That assured Rosberg of a P1 to add to the P1 he achieved last Sunday in China.

Webber was second, 0.446s off the pace, while Vettel brought his Red Bull home in third place. Both Red Bull drivers are using the new exhaust layout after Vettel opted to move away from the configuration he ran in China.

Lewis Hamilton was fourth for McLaren, the last driver to get within a second of Rosberg's P1 time while Michael Schumacher finished in fifth place ahead of Jenson Button, Kamui Kobayashi and Fernando Alonso.

The Spaniard was 1.633s down on Rosberg's best in what proved to be another trying day for the Ferrari team. Felipe Massa was P12.

Meanwhile, Force India did not run at all as, under the advicement of their security detail, they decided to get all their personnel back to their hotel before night fell.

01 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:32.816 34 laps
02 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:33.262 0.446 26 laps
03 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:33.525 0.709 27 laps
04 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:33.747 0.931 26 laps
05 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:33.862 1.046 31 laps
06 Jenson Button McLaren 1:34.246 1.430 28 laps
07 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:34.411 1.595 33 laps
08 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:34.449 1.633 30 laps
09 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:34.615 1.799 31 laps
10 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:34.893 2.077 34 laps
11 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:34.895 2.079 29 laps
12 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:34.941 2.125 29 laps
13 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:35.183 2.367 32 laps
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:35.229 2.413 26 laps
15 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:35.459 2.643 38 laps
16 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:35.913 3.097 32 laps
17 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:35.968 3.152 35 laps
18 Bruno Senna Williams 1:36.169 3.353 30 laps
19 Timo Glock Marussia 1:36.587 3.771 32 laps
20 Charles Pic Marussia 1:37.803 4.987 33 laps
21 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:37.812 4.996 28 laps
22 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:39.649 6.833 27 laps
23 Paul di Resta Force India laps
24 Nico Hulkenberg Force India

Related Links
Friday's pictures from Bahrain

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.