Prac Two: Hamilton remains on top

Friday 08-June-2012 20:31

Lewis Hamilton continued to set the pace in Canada as the McLaren driver finished a mere 0.054s ahead of Fernando Alonso on Friday afternoon.

Jean-Eric Vergne got proceedings underway with a 1:21.108 but within five minutes was outside the top ten with Kamui Kobayashi, Kimi Raikkonen and Nico Rosberg taking the P1 slot. The benchmark was down to 1:16.738.

Pastor Maldonado was the next to lead the way as Timo Glock had the sessions first incident as he spun his Marussia at Turn 1 and came to a halt in the middle of the track facing the wrong direction. Thankfully everyone was aware he was there and avoided him before he spun around and continued on his way.

Rosberg returned to the front before losing out to Fernando Alonso. Minutes later the Spaniard became the latest in a long list to get it wrong at Turn 8. But while most cut the grass, Alonso put his F2012 into a full 360' across the grass and returned to the action at Turn 9.

Lewis Hamilton took over at the front on the super soft tyres and lap by lap lowered his lap time to a 1:15.439. With drivers switching to longer runs, Hamilton was secure in the P1 slot when the session was red flagged.

With 40 minutes remaining in practice, Bruno Senna lost the back end of his Williams into the Turn 14, the infamous Wall of Champions. The Brazilian, who was testing the latest rear wing, hit it backwards hard before his FW34 rebounded to hit the wall again with the front right.

Back underway with 30 minutes left, the drivers were quickly out on track. The two Ferraris were the big movers with Alonso taking second place, 0.054s down on Hamilton, and Felipe Massa third.

Practice Two ended with Hamilton in the P1 slot with a 1:15.259 followed by the two Ferraris. Sebastian Vettel was fourth while a late appearance from Jenson Button after a gearbox change put him down in 13th place.

01 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:15.259 43 laps
02 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:15.313 0.054 36 laps
03 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:15.410 0.151 39 laps
04 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:15.531 0.272 44 laps
05 Paul di Resta Force India 1:15.544 0.285 32 laps
06 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:15.651 0.392 37 laps
07 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:15.697 0.438 32 laps
08 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:15.799 0.540 39 laps
09 Jenson Button McLaren 1:15.812 0.553 14 laps
10 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:15.878 0.619 40 laps
11 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:15.898 0.639 38 laps
12 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:15.907 0.648 41 laps
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:15.987 0.728 39 laps
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:16.360 1.101 29 laps
15 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:16.562 1.303 33 laps
16 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:16.981 1.722 24 laps
17 Bruno Senna Williams 1:17.022 1.763 22 laps
18 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 1:17.075 1.816 41 laps
19 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:17.124 1.865 41 laps
20 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:17.716 2.457 34 laps
21 Pedro de la Rosa HRT 1:18.908 3.649 27 laps
22 Timo Glock Marussia 1:19.084 3.825 40 laps
23 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 1:19.378 4.119 21 laps
24 Charles Pic Marussia 1:19.902 4.643 18 laps

Related Links
Gallery: Friday's action from Montreal

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.