Prac Two: Rain causes havoc

Friday 06-July-2012 15:35

Lewis Hamilton set the pace at a rain-soaked Silverstone where the dismal weather kept most drivers in their garages for the first half of FP2.

With the rain coming down and drivers limited to just three sets of full wet Pirelli tyres, it was a slow start to Friday's second practice session.

Timo Glock got proceedings underway with a 2:11.964 before he was bettered by Bruno Senna. However, with the rain continuing they were the only two to have set times at the halfway mark while only four drivers had even ventured out.

Kamui Kobayashi added his name to both lists, clocking a 2:04.198 to take the P1 slot, his laps prompting others to venture out. Sergio Perez was the next to lead the way, 3.803s up on his team-mate.

That sparked an intra-team battle as the two Saubers swapped fastest lap times before the FP2 was red-flagged due to a crash involving Senna.

The Brazilian lost his Williams through the Chapel curve and slammed into the barriers with the left side of the car. It was a heavy impact that caused significant damage to the car.

The session restarted with 22 minutes remaining and, as the rain had also let up, the drivers were quickly out on track. Kobayashi lowered the benchmark using the full wets as Nico Rosberg took second ahead of Perez and Lewis Hamilton. Some drivers, though, opted for the intermediate tyres with Fernando Alonso tenth quickest.

Hamilton was the next to lead the way with a 1:56.345. And although the conditions improved in the final few minutes none of his rivals were able to overhaul the McLaren driver.

Kobayashi finished in second place, 0.129s off the pace, while Michael Schuamcher was third.

01 Lewis Hamilton McLaren 1:56.345 8 laps
02 Kamui Kobayashi Sauber 1:56.474 0.129 16 laps
03 Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1:56.545 0.200 12 laps
04 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:56.567 0.222 9 laps
05 Sergio Perez Sauber 1:57.493 1.148 13 laps
06 Jenson Button McLaren 1:57.948 1.603 9 laps
07 Heikki Kovalainen Caterham 1:58.580 2.235 10 laps
08 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:58.897 2.552 8 laps
09 Nico Hulkenberg Force India 1:58.943 2.598 12 laps
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:59.015 2.670 14 laps
11 Paul di Resta Force India 1:59.429 3.084 9 laps
12 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:59.472 3.127 6 laps
13 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:59.476 3.131 10 laps
14 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:59.854 3.509 7 laps
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 2:00.565 4.220 7 laps
16 Timo Glock Marussia 2:00.820 4.475 11 laps
17 Bruno Senna Williams 2:01.099 4.754 6 laps
18 Vitaly Petrov Caterham 2:01.348 5.003 12 laps
19 Charles Pic Marussia 2:03.719 7.374 8 laps
20 Narain Karthikeyan HRT 2:04.774 8.429 8 laps
Mark Webber Red Bull 1 laps
Romain Grosjean Lotus 1 laps
Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 2 laps
Pedro de la Rosa HRT

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.