Prac One: Not Much To Report

Friday 28-June-2013 11:55

The British Grand Prix lived up to its reputation on Friday as Free Practice One ended up in a damp squib with only a handful of drivers posting times.

It started raining early morning and there was no let-up throughout the 90-minute session at Silverstone as the drivers spent most of the session wrapped up warmly in their garages.

Valtteri Bottas of Williams was the first man to venture out on the track and several others followed suit, but no one posted a time during the first hour of the session.

Things only got interesting during the final 30 minutes when Daniel Ricciardo decided to complete the first lap of the morning. The Toro Rosso driver's time of 2:00.029 wasn't really something to write home about, but it did open the "floodgates" for other drivers to make it onto the track.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton responded with a 1:55.458 in the final five minutes of the session and before long there were more than 10 drivers on the track as Nico Hulkenberg, Felipe Massa, Pastor Maldonado, Jules Bianchi, Giedo van der Garde, among others, all made it out.

Ricciardo, though, got just rewards for his brave efforts as he posted the best time of 1:54.249 with Hulkenberg 0.784s behind him and Maldonado third with a 1:55.354. Hamilton was pushed into P4 with Esteban Gutierrez completing the top five.

While the likes of Gutierrez, Maldonado and Bottas had near misses in the tricky conditions during the final few minutes of the sessions, Charles Pic of Caterham wasn't so lucky as he crashed at club, losing his front wing.

Other than that, there wasn't much to report as Kimi Raikkonen never even made it onto the track while Fernando Alonso, Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber didn't post times.

1 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:54.249s 10 laps
2 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:55.033s + 0.784s 7
3 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:55.354s + 1.105s 7
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:55.458s + 1.209s 5
5 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:55.825s + 1.576s 9
6 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:56.361s + 2.112s 7
7 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:57.891s +3.642s 4
8 Giedo van der Garde Caterha 1:58.859s + 4.610s 6
9 Max Chilton Marussia 1:59.719s + 5.470s 7
10 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:59.876s + 5.627s 8
11 Felipe Massa Ferrari 2:06.534s + 12.285 6
12 Nico Rosberg Mercedes no time 3
13 Paul di Resta Force India no time 4
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus no time 1
15 Jenson Button McLaren no time 1
16 Adrian Sutil Force India no time 4
17 Fernando Alonso Ferrari no time 4
18 Mark Webber Red Bull no time 1
19 Sergio Perez McLaren no time 1
20 Charles Pic Caterham no time 3
21 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull no time 4
22 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus no time 0

Related Link
A Wet Start At Silverstone

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.