Third Prac: Rosberg Stays At The Top

Saturday 29-June-2013 11:21

Mercedes once again showed that they will be there or thereabouts when it comes to qualifying at Silverstone after claiming a 1-2 in FP3.

Having topped the timesheets during the second 90-minute session on Friday afternoon, Nico Rosberg claimed another P1 on Saturday morning as he just edged his team-mate Lewis Hamilton.

The German posted a 1:31.487s on the medium compounds on his final lap of the morning to pip Hamilton - who was P1 for most of the session - to top spot by just 0.146s.

Defending World Champion Sebastian Vettel was third with a 1:32.037 while his Red Bull team-mate Mark Webber and Romain Grosjean from Lotus completed the top five.

Daniel Ricciardo continued his good form with a 1:32.440, which was good enough for P6, but Fernando Alonso and Kimi Raikkonen were hot on his heels. The Force India duo of Adrian Sutil and Paul di Resta completed the top 10.

It was another difficult day for McLaren as Jenson Button was only 11th fastest and nearly one and half second off Rosberg's pace while his team-mate Sergio Perez didn't have the best of sessions.

The Mexican completed only nine laps after his left rear tyre "exploded" after only six laps. It was destroyed within a few seconds and brought out a red flag. Although he returned to the track late in the session, he never looked comfortable.

Another driver who had a troublesome morning was Felipe Massa as the Ferrari driver, who was 15th fastest, had to abort the session before the chequered flag came out as his mechanics found a problem with his engine.

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:31.487s 18 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:31.633s +0.146s 20
3 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:32.037s +0.550s 20
4. Mark Webber Red Bull 1:32.078s +0.591s 17
5 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:32.391s +0.904s 18
6 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:32.440s +0.953s 19
7 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:32.454s +0.967s 18
8 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:32.459s +0.972s 22
9 Adrian Sutil Force India 1:32.536s +1.049s 17
10 Paul di Resta Force India 1:32.571s +1.084s 17
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:32.580s +1.093s 15
12 Jenson Button McLaren 1:32.926s +1.439s 18
13 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:33.133s +1.646s 17
14 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:33.225s +1.738s 16
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:33.273s +1.786s 16
16 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:33.309s +1.822s 25
17 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:33.370s +1.883s 19
18 Sergio Perez McLaren 1:33.607s +2.120s 9
19 Charles Pic Caterham 1:34.971s +3.484s 18
20 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:34.990s +3.503s 17
21 Max Chilton Marussia 1:36.694s +5.207s 16
22 Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1:37.443s +5.956s 18

Related link
Saturday's Shots From Silverstone

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.