Prac Three: Vettel remains the dominant force

Saturday 07-September-2013 11:08

As with Friday's second practice, Sebastian Vettel had the better of the running in final practice at Monza where he beat Fernando Alonso to the P1 time.

Once the triple World Champ ventured out, one of the last to do so, there was no stopping him.

Vettel dropped in the 1:24s on the hard Pirelli tyres with a 1:24.736 before bettering that to a 1:24.551.

He was the only driver under the mark on the orange-walled tyres with Alonso second and Mark Webber third.

And although the swap to the white-walled medium tyres saw six other driver break into the 1:24s, none could beat Vettel.

The Red Bull racer finished up with a 1:24.360, which was 0.283s up on Alonso's best while Webber was third, 0.317s off the pace.

Lewis Hamilton improved his position on the option tyres, slotting into fourth ahead of Sergio Perez and Daniel Ricciardo.

Felipe Massa was seventh with Jenson Button, Pastor Maldonado and Kimi Raikkonen completing the top ten.

Meanwhile, two drivers failed to see the chequered flag at the end of the session.

Nico Rosberg was sidelined ahead of the halfway point as telemetry suggested that something was overheating in the German's W04.

First removing the floor, Mercedes then took out the gearbox as they examined the hydraulics and it was clear that Rosberg's morning was over.

He was joined on the sidelined by Paul di Resta, the first crasher of the weekend.

The Scot lost the back end of his Force India through the Parabolica and hit the barriers at pace, damaging the front end of his car.

Di Resta reported to his team that "something broke there."

1 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull 1:24.360 18 laps
2 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:24.643 +0.283 13 laps
3 Mark Webber Red Bull 1:24.677 +0.317 22 laps
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:24.712 +0.352 17 laps
5 Sergio Perez McLaren 1:24.864 +0.504 19 laps
6 Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:24.865 +0.505 19 laps
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:24.995 +0.635 14 laps
8 Jenson Button McLaren 1:25.103 +0.743 15 laps
9 Pastor Maldonado Williams 1:25.116 +0.756 20 laps
10 Kimi Raikkonen Lotus 1:25.120 +0.760 18 laps
11 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso 1:25.136 +0.776 16 laps
12 Nico Hulkenberg Sauber 1:25.273 +0.913 21 laps
13 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber 1:25.324 +0.964 22 laps
14 Romain Grosjean Lotus 1:25.499 +1.139 17 laps
15 Valtteri Bottas Williams 1:25.660 +1.300 21 laps
16 Adrian Sutil Force India 1:25.702 +1.342 19 laps
17 Paul di Resta Force India 1:26.120 +1.760 11 laps
18 Charles Pic Caterham 1:26.607 +2.247 21 laps
19 Giedo van der Garde Caterham 1:27.172 +2.812 20 laps
20 Jules Bianchi Marussia 1:27.605 +3.245 18 laps
21 Max Chilton Marussia 1:27.665 +3.305 18 laps
22 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1:27.822 +3.462 5 laps

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.