Button bags '22'

Friday 10-January-2014 07:04

Jenson Button will race the number '22' in his remaining years in Formula One, the Brit and his team have announced.

This season will see each driver given a number that they will retain throughout their career.

The drivers have had the opportunity to pick their own numbers and McLaren have confirmed that Button will take number '22', which is the number his car was in 2009, the year he won the World title with Brawn GP.

Overnight news.... @JensonButton's driver number will be 22, the number which he won the 2009 world championship with. #Jenson22

- McLaren (@McLarenF1) January 10, 2014

Meanwhile, new Red Bull racer Daniel Ricciardo says he'll have the number '3' on his car this season.

Racing number confirmed. #3 ladies and gentlemen ✊ #DR3

- Daniel Ricciardo (@danielricciardo) January 10, 2014

© 2014 - 365 Media Group

Any reproduction, publication or redistribution of this material without the written agreement of 365 Media Group is strictly forbidden.