The provisional Belgian Grand Prix grid

Michelle Foster

Charles Leclerc is on pole position and Robert Kubica is at the very back, and that’s about all that is guaranteed for the provisional Belgian GP grid.

Seven drivers have been penalised ahead of Sunday’s 44-lap Belgian Grand Prix, all for changing power unit elements while Daniil Kvyat has an extra five for a new gearbox.

Antonio Giovinazzi is the latest to be penalised, handed his on Sunday morning with news that his Alfa Romeo required a new engine following Saturday’s failure in qualifying. He falls to P18.

With Daniel Ricciardo, one of those penalised, having qualified P6 it means everyone from sixth on down has changed places.

The biggest winner is George Russell, up from P19 to P14.

But while the Williams rookie benefitted from the penalties, his team-mate Kubica remains in his usual last spot as an engine failure in qualifying meant he did not set a time. He moves to the pit lane after taking on a new engine and a new front wing assembly.

The revised grid
1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
4 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
5 Max Verstappen Red Bull
6 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing
7 Sergio Perez Racing Point
8 Kevin Magnussen Haas
9 Romain Grosjean Haas
10 Daniel Ricciardo Renault *
11 Lando Norris McLaren
12 Nico Hulkenberg Renault *
13 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso
14 George Russell Williams
15 Carlos Sainz McLaren *
16 Lance Stroll Racing Point **
17 Alex Albon Red Bull **
18 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing **
19 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso ***
PL Robert Kubica Williams****

* five-place power unit change penalty
** multiple power unit element changes
*** Multiple power unit element changes and gearbox
**** Kubica races at the stewards’ discretion having not setting a time in qualy

Follow all the action from the Belgian Grand Prix with the PlanetF1 live centre