Provisional British GP grid: no changes

Michelle Foster

Silverstone offered to host up to 12 F1 races.

Unlike in recent races, this weekend’s British Grand Prix looks set to take place with the grid exactly as it was in qualifying.

Although the FIA confirmed that Lando Norris has taken a new ICE for this weekend’s grand prix, the British rookie is not facing a penalty as it is within his season’s allocation.

Daniel Ricciardo’s engine failure, the death of Pony, on Friday will also not have any ramifications as it was an old spec engine only in the car for practice.

As such the grid will line up as the drivers qualified.

Valtteri Bottas is on pole position, leading an all-Mercedes front row, while Austrian GP protagonists Charles Leclerc and Max Verstappen make up row two.

The final row of the grid is, not unexpected, the Williams pairing of George Russell and Robert Kubica.

The provisional grid
1 Valtteri Bottas
2 Lewis Hamilton
3 Charles Leclerc
4 Max Verstappen
5 Pierre Gasly
6 Sebastian Vettel
7 Daniel Ricciardo
8 Lando Norris
9 Alex Albon
10 Nico Hulkenberg
11 Antonio Giovinazzi
12 Kimi Raikkonen
13 Carlos Sainz
14 Romain Grosjean
15 Sergio Perez
16 Kevin Magnussen
17 Daniil Kvyat
18 Lance Stroll
19 George Russell
20 Robert Kubica

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.