F1 starting grid: What is the grid order for the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix?

Jamie Woodhouse
The Formula 1 logo displayed at the 2024 Monaco Grand Prix.

Formula 1 logo at Monaco.

Charles Leclerc bagged the most important pole of F1 2024 as he prepares to head the grid at his home race, the Monaco Grand Prix.

Leclerc ended the 100 per cent pole position record of Max Verstappen in F1 2024, the Ferrari driver to share the front row with McLaren’s Oscar Piastri.

Charles Leclerc secures third Monaco Grand Prix pole

Leclerc’s Ferrari team-mate Carlos Sainz will launch from P3, while it is McLaren’s Lando Norris in P4 after what turned into a very productive day for those teams.

Mercedes’ George Russell starts P5 alongside Verstappen, who whacked the barriers at Sainte Devote in his Red Bull on the all-important final Q3 run.

Russell’s Mercedes team-mate Lewis Hamilton, RB’s Yuki Tsunoda, Williams’ Alex Albon and the Alpine of Pierre Gasly complete the top 10 on the grid.

More key Monaco GP talking points

👉 Daniel Ricciardo exclusive: I’m absolutely ready to return to Red Bull

👉 Red Bull RB20 concept questioned with ‘wrong direction’ concerns about Monaco troubles

Alpine’s Esteban Ocon will lead the battle to break into the points from P11 on the grid. He is joined on row six by RB’s Daniel Ricciardo.

Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll and Fernando Alonso, who suffered back-to-back Q1 eliminations, line up behind them.

But if Alonso’s Q1 elimination was a shock, it was topped by Red Bull’s Sergio Perez, who faces the toughest of Sunday afternoons from P16 on the grid. He has Williams’ Logan Sargeant for company.

The Saubers of Valtteri Bottas and Zhou Guanyu were set to form the back row, though that changed when Haas duo Nico Hulkenberg and Kevin Magnussen, originally 12th and 15th respectively on the grid, were excluded from the qualifying results over an “inadvertent” rear wing breach on both cars.

2024 Monaco Grand Prix grid

1. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari
2. Oscar Piastri, McLaren
3. Carlos Sainz, Ferrari
4. Lando Norris, McLaren
5. George Russell, Mercedes
6. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
7. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
8. Yuki Tsunoda, RB
9. Alex Albon, Williams
10. Pierre Gasly, Alpine
11. Esteban Ocon, Alpine
12. Daniel Ricciardo, RB
13. Lance Stroll, Aston Martin
14. Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin
15. Logan Sargeant, Williams
16. Sergio Perez, Red Bull
17. Valtteri Bottas, Sauber
18. Zhou Guanyu, Sauber
TBC Nico Hulkenberg, Haas
TBC Kevin Magnussen, Haas

Read next – Monaco GP: Max Verstappen pole streak over as Charles Leclerc’s curse starts to break