Brazil, Mexico, USA and Canada all cancelled for 2020

Jamie Woodhouse

Brazilian, Mexican, Canadian and United States GPs cancelled.

Formula 1 have confirmed that the Brazilian, Mexican, United States and Canadian GPs have all been cancelled for 2020.

Bosses of the series have been piecing together a new schedule for the 2020 season over the past few months and have confirmed races at the Nurburgring, Portimao Circuit and Imola to take the season up to 13 rounds.

But with that news also came the announcement that the planned races in Brazil, Mexico, USA and Canada will not take place in 2020 “due to the fluid nature of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, local restrictions and the importance of keeping communities and our colleagues safe”.

Speaking to the F1 website, CEO of the Formula One Group Chase Carey said: “We want to pay tribute to our incredible partners in the Americas and look forward to being back with them next season when they will once again be able to thrill millions of fans around the world.”

The Mexican Grand Prix has been one of the highest-attended events on the Formula 1 calendar since it returned in 2015 at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez.

The Brazilian and Canadian Grand Prixs will also be a big loss to the calendar having been ever present in the sport’s rich history.

There has been a Brazilian Grand Prix in Formula 1 every year since 1972, with Interlagos having the honours of hosting the event since 1990.

Similarly the Canadian Grand Prix has been missing on the calendar only three times since 1961, with the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve staging all Canadian GPs since 1982.

The Circuit of the Americas serves as the home of the United States Grand Prix and it will without doubt be a blow for Formula 1’s owners Liberty Media to lose their home race for 2020, especially considering their continued efforts to expand the sport in the nation.

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.