British Grand Prix 2020: Time, TV channel, live stream, grid

Finley Crebolder

Silverstone offered to host up to 12 F1 races.

After a brief break, the British Grand Prix is next up, the first of two consecutive races held at Silverstone.

The first triple-header of the season went off without a hitch, with no positive COVID-19 case in the latest round of testing or other major issues being encountered.

Mercedes dominated in both Austria and Hungary, taking wins and pole positions at each of the three races. Lewis Hamilton triumphed twice after Valtteri Bottas won the opener.

The German team’s dominance was largely down to the struggles of Red Bull and, in particular, Ferrari. Their issues were so large in fact, that at Hungary last time out, Racing Point managed to lock out the second row in qualifying.

Will it be plain-sailing once again for Hamilton at his home race, or will someone take the fight to him and his team-mate?

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of it…

When is the 2020 British Grand Prix?

The start times for the British Grand Prix are as follows:

Practice 1: Friday July 31, 1100 local time (BST)

Practice 2: Friday July 31, 1500 local time (BST)

Practice 3: Saturday August 1, 1100 local time (BST)

Qualifying: Saturday August 1, 1400 local time (BST)

Race: Sunday August 2, 1410 local time (BST)

Where does the British Grand Prix take place?

British GP postponement likely says Derek Warwick.

Silverstone hosted the first-ever round of the World Championship in 1950 and is one of only two circuits to host a Championship race every year since.

The iconic venue has undergone many makeovers over the years, but always remaining at its heart is a track that drivers just simply love to race on.

Silverstone boasts one of the fastest tracks in the world and you will struggle to find a more thrilling corner combination in racing than the Maggots-Becketts-Chapel complex. This circuit is one of Formula 1’s most valuable treasures.

There were fears that last year’s race would be the last at Silverstone as its future as host of the British Grand Prix had been in doubt for quite some time.

However, an agreement was eventually reached for the Northamptonshire track to continue to feature on the F1 calendar for the next five years at the least.

Sunday’s race will be run over 52 laps of the 5.901km circuit.

Where can I watch the British Grand Prix on TV?

Pay-TV broadcaster Sky Sports will show the entire race weekend on its dedicated Sky Sports F1 channel. You can also access a live stream of the coverage via Now TV. Full coverage will also be aired by free-to-air broadcaster Channel 4.

Subscribers to F1’s own app can hear radio commentary on the race proper from the BBC and access live data throughout every session.

PlanetF1 will carry live timing and expert commentary on every session of the race weekend, from FP1 on Friday morning to the race on Sunday afternoon.

The British Grand Prix will be shown live on TV on the following outlets in other key markets:

United States: ESPN

Canada: RDS (French), TSN (English)

Australia: Fox Sports, One (Network Ten)

France: Canal + (pay TV) and TF1 (free-to-air)

Italy: Sky Italia, TV8

Germany: RTL and Sky Deutschland

Spain: Movistar F1

What is the weather forecast for the British Grand Prix?

Friday July 31: 20C, partly cloudy.
Saturday August 1: 19C, partly cloudy.
Sunday August 2: 17C, partly cloudy.

Which drivers have won the British Grand Prix?

Conclusions from the British Grand Prix
Conclusions from the British Grand Prix

Last year, Hamilton won his home Grand Prix for the sixth time, officially becoming the most successful driver ever at the track.

Prior to his triumph, he was sat on five wins alongside Jim Clark and Alain Prost, with Nigel Mansell just behind on four.

Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen are the only other drivers currently on the grid that have won the race. The former did so in 2009 and 2018, and the latter in 2007.

The last 10 winners of the British Grand Prix are as follows:

2019: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)
2018: Sebastian Vettel (Germany, Ferrari)
2017: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)
2016: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)
2015: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)
2014: Lewis Hamilton (Great Britain, Mercedes)
2013: Nico Rosberg (Germany, Mercedes)
2012: Mark Webber (Australia, Red Bull)
2011: Fernando Alonso (Spain, Ferrari)
2010: Mark Webber (Australia, Red Bull)

British Grand Prix grid positions

Lewis Hamilton secured a seventh British Grand Prix pole position on Saturday and is joined on the front row by Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas.

Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc, in the Red Bull and Ferrari respectively, occupy the second row. AlphaTauri’s Daniil Kvyat has five place grid penalty for a gearbox change.

There is also a five-place grid penalty for Williams’ George Russell for failing to slow in qualifying during a yellow flag period.

Here is the starting grid for the British Grand Prix:

1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:24.303
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 0.313s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1.022s
4 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1.124s
5 Lando Norris McLaren 1.479s
6 Lance Stroll Racing Point 1.536s
7 Carlos Sainz McLaren 1.662s
8 Daniel Ricciardo Renault 1.706s
9 Esteban Ocon Renault 1.906s
10 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 2.036s
11 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1:26.501
12 Alex Albon Red Bull 1:26.545
13 Nico Hulkenberg Racing Point 1:26.566
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:27.158
15 Antonio Giovinazzi Alfa Romeo Racing 1:27.164
16 Kimi Raikkonen Alfa Romeo Racing 1:27.366
17 Romain Grosjean Haas 1:27.643
18 Nicholas Latifi Williams 1:27.705
19 Daniil Kvyat AlphaTauri 1:26.744*
20 George Russell Williams 1:27.092**

*Five place grid drop for gearbox change
** Five place grid drop for failing to slow sufficiently for yellow flags


What are the odds for the British Grand Prix?

The latestĀ bookmaker informationĀ makes for interesting reading with Lewis Hamilton the obvious favourite at odds of 4/9, but Valtteri Bottas at 9/4 might be worth keeping an eye on.

Here are the full odds from Bet365:

2/7 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

7/2 Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)

15/2 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

50/1 Lando Norris (McLaren)

50/1 Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

66/1 Lance Stroll (Racing Point)

[Odds lasted updated Saturday, August 1]

What are the latest F1 Championship standings?

Three races into the season, here is how both 2020 Championships look at the top end.

Drivers’ Championship

Lewis Hamilton – 63 points

Valtteri Bottas – 58 points

Max Verstappen – 33 points

Lando Norris – 26 points

Alex Albon – 22 points

Constructors’ Championship

Mercedes – 121 points

Red Bull – 55 points

McLaren – 41 points

Full F1 championship standings are here

Tyre choices for the British Grand Prix

F1 tyre manufacturer Pirelli will bring the white hard C1 tyre to the British Grand Prix along with the yellow medium C2 and the red soft C3. Their compound set ranges from C1 (the hardest) to C5 (the softest).

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.