Dutch Grand Prix 2022: Time, TV channel, live stream

Jamie Woodhouse
Max Verstappen in front of Dutch fans. Zandvoort September 2021.

Home hero Max Verstappen drives in front of the Dutch crowd. Zandvoort September 2021.

After Max Verstappen dominated in Spa, he heads into his home race, the Dutch Grand Prix, with Ferrari at his mercy.

Spa was Formula 1’s first stop after the summer break, and also the first outing with the FIA’s new Technical Directive in force, addressing the plank and skid blocks under the cars in a bid to reduce the impact of porpoising.

At this stage it is not clear how impactful that TD was, but Verstappen’s utter dominance of the Belgian Grand Prix was a very worrying sign for Ferrari.

Verstappen outqualified the lead Ferrari by over six tenths, and despite dropping to P14 on the grid with a penalty, he still won the race by just under 18 seconds ahead of team-mate Sergio Perez.



Now 98 points ahead of Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc, Verstappen would surely end the Scuderia’s title hopes once and for all if he delivers a display of similar dominance on home soil.

Here is everything you need to know ahead of the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix…

When is the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix?

Friday 2 September
Free Practice 1: 1230-1330 (1130-1230 UK time)
Free Practice 2: 1600-1700 (1500-1600 UK time)

Saturday 3 September
Free Practice 3: 1200-1300 (1100-1200 UK time)
Qualifying: 1500 (1400 UK time)

Sunday 4 August
Race: 1500 (1400 UK time)

Where does the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix take place?

Fans pack the stand at Zandvoort. Netherlands, September 2021.
Fans pack the grandstand at the main straight of Circuit Zandvoort. Netherlands, September 2021.

Zandvoort returned to the Formula 1 calendar for 2021 – but not the Zandvoort that we all remembered.

For years now the Dutch fans have been bringing the party atmosphere to Formula 1 in support of their guy Max Verstappen, and finally they have a race on home soil again.

The Netherlands has a population of 17.5 million, and the municipality of Zandvoort serves as one of the country’s major beach resorts. It has a population of around 17,000.

Ahead of its Formula 1 return Circuit Zandvoort underwent a major transformation. The biggest of those changes being the introduction of two banked corners.

The now 4.252 km-track introduced banking to the iconic Hugenholtzbocht corner, while Arie Luyendijkbocht, the last corner of the lap, features banking at 19 degrees, making it twice as steep as the banking seen at Indianapolis.

The circuit features 13 turns, and the firm in charge of redesigning the track, Dromo Circuit Design, said they wanted to emulate Eau Rouge and Raidillon at Spa, and Silverstone’s fast-paced sweep of Maggots and Becketts.

Where can I watch the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix?

In the UK, pay-TV broadcaster Sky Sports will show the entire race weekend, from FP1 to the race, on its dedicated Sky Sports F1 channel. You can also access a live stream of the coverage via Now TV. Free-to-air broadcaster Channel 4 will broadcast highlights across the race weekend.

PlanetF1 will carry live timing and expert commentary on every session of the race weekend, from FP1 on Friday morning to the race on Sunday afternoon.

The Dutch Grand Prix will be shown live on TV on the following outlets in other key markets:

United States: ESPN
Canada: RDS (French), TSN (English)
Australia: Fox Sports
France: Canal+
Italy: Sky Sport F1
Germany: Sky Sport F1, RTL
Spain: DAZN
Netherlands: Ziggo Sport, NOS
Brazil: Band
Japan: DAZN

What is the grid for the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix?

1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:10.342
2 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +0.021
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +0.092
4 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +0.306
5 Sergio Perez Red Bull +0.735
6 George Russell Mercedes +0.805
7 Lando Norris McLaren +0.832
8 Mick Schumacher Haas +1.100
9 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +2.214
10 Lance Stroll Aston Martin No time (Q3)
11 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri +0.698 (Q2)
12 Esteban Ocon Alpine +0.791
13 Fernando Alonso Alpine +0.799
14 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +0.890
15 Alex Albon Williams +0.988
16 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Racing +0.644 (Q1)
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas +0.724
18 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +0.764
19 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +1.074
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams +2.036

What are the odds for the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix?

Here are the favourites for the race win from Planet Sport Bet:

4/9 Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

7/2 Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

8/1 Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

12/1 Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

22/1 George Russell (Mercedes)

33/1 Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

100/1 and bigger the remainder

(Last updated after qualifying)

What is the weather forecast for the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix?

Friday 2 September – 24c, sunny intervals and a moderate breeze
Saturday 3 September – 23c, sunny intervals and a moderate breeze
Sunday 4 September – 23c, sunny intervals and a moderate breeze

Directions to the Dutch Grand Prix

Zandvoort is a coastal resort in the north of Holland with a long sandy beach. Indeed the circuit’s iconic reputation was added to by the fact it was located in the dunes next to the North Sea. Getting to the town is relatively straightforward from the Dutch capital.

Directions from Amsterdam to Zandvoort:

Car: The journey given normal conditions takes around 40 minutes over a distance of around 24km.

Train: From Amsterdam Centraal station to Zandvoort aan Zee with NS trains, taking between 30 and 35 minutes.

Bus: There are two bus services to Zandvoort aan Zee. From Haarlem central, Zandvoort is approximately 30 minutes travel on bus number 81, while the journey time from Amsterdam marnixstraat on the number 80 bus (via Haarlem and Heemstede-Aerdenhout) takes approximately 50 minutes.

Plane: For fans who are flying to the race head for Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The circuit is then 24km away.

Zandvoort Circuit address

Circuit Park Zandvoort, Burgemeester van Alphenstraat 108, 2041 KP Zandvoort, Netherlands

Which drivers have won the Dutch Grand Prix?

Max Verstappen, Red Bull, gives a thumbs up. Belgium, August 2022.
Max Verstappen, Red Bull, gives a thumbs up after setting the fastest qualifying time. Belgium, August 2022.

Given that the Dutch Grand Prix was a regular fixture on the calendar from the early 1950s to the mid-1980s, a number of legendary drivers have tasted victory on Dutch soil.

Double World Champion Jim Clark did so most regularly, emerging as the winning driver on four occasions; in 1963, 1964, 1965 and 1967.

Jackie Stewart and Niki Lauda have both been the victor in Zandvoort three times, with the Scot dominating in the late 60s and early 70s and the Austrian winning in 1974, 1977 and 1985.

Alberto Ascari, Jack Brabham, James Hunt and Alain Prost have all prevailed twice, while home hero Max Verstappen won in 2021 as Formula 1 returned to the nation. But for how much longer will Verstappen be a one-time winner here?

The last 10 winners of the Dutch Grand Prix are as follows:

2021: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
1985: Niki Lauda (McLaren)
1984: Alain Prost (McLaren)
1983: Rene Arnoux (Ferrari)
1982: Didier Peroni (Ferrari)
1981: Alain Prost (Renault)
1980: Nelson Piquet (Brabham)
1979: Alan Jones (Williams)
1978: Mario Andretti (Lotus)
1977: Niki Lauda (Ferrari)

What are the latest F1 Championship standings?

Drivers’ Championship

Max Verstappen – 284 points
Sergio Perez – 191
Charles Leclerc – 186
Carlos Sainz – 171
George Russell – 170

Constructors’ Championship

Red Bull – 475 points
Ferrari – 357
Mercedes – 316
Alpine – 115
McLaren – 95

Tyre choices for the 2022 Dutch Grand Prix

After settling in the middle of their range for Spa, Pirelli switches to the hardest compounds available for Zandvoort, part two of the triple-header.

This means that the C1 will be the hard tyre, the C2 is going to be the medium and the C3 shall serve as the soft tyre.