F1 reveals record-breaking 2020 calendar

Michelle Foster


A record-breaking 22-race provisional F1 2020 calendar has been released, starting in March with Australia and ended in Abu Dhabi in November.

Two new grands prix will be joining the circus with F1 stopping off in Vietnam on April 5 while the Dutch GP, expected to be a sell-out with Max Verstappen fans, takes place on May 3.

Spain is back on the calendar, handed a year’s reprieve with Germany the only race from this season not to feature.

GPFans.net quotes F1 CEO Chase Carey as saying: “It’s the year in which the series that is the pinnacle of motorsport celebrates its seventieth anniversary with, for the first time, a 22-race calendar.

“It is significant for our sport and confirms our long-term strategy.

“The season with a record 22 grands prix has received unanimous support from the FIA and all the teams and clearly demonstrates the confidence that exists in the future of our sport.”

The calendar also features seven back-to-back grands prix.

That was until the coronavirus outbreak hit, which now sees the entire Formula 1 season on hold until the world can get back to some semblance of normality.

The provisional calendar

15 March: Australia (postponed)
22 March: Bahrain (postponed)
5 April: Vietnam (postponed)
19 April: China (postponed)
3 May: Netherlands
10 May: Spain
24 May: Monaco
7 June: Azerbaijan
14 June: Canada
28 June: France
5 July: Austria
19 July: Great Britain
2 August: Hungary
30 August: Belgium
6 September: Italy
20 September: Singapore
27 September: Russia
11 October: Japan
25 Ocotober: USA
1 November: Mexico
15 November: Brazil
29 November: Abu Dhabi

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.