F1 2022 results: Azerbaijan GP – Second Practice session

Sam Cooper
Charles Leclerc driving in Baku. Baku, June 2022.

Ferrari's Charles Leclerc turns into a corner during a practice session for the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Baku, June 2022.

Here are the full results from the second practice session of the Azerbaijan Grand Prix as Charles Leclerc went quickest.

It was the fifth time this season the Ferrari driver has topped the timesheet in FP2 with the two Red Bulls behind him.

Alpine’s Fernando Alonso showed promising signs for the rest of the weekend as he finished P5 in the standings.

Early in the session, Lando Norris used the escape road to avoid hitting the wall at Turn 3. The McLaren driver then reversed and went forwards many times to get himself facing the right way and back onto the track.

Meanwhile in the garage, Red Bull mechanics worked on Max Verstappen’s rear wing which appeared unusually flappy during the first practice session of the day. The Dutchman then appeared with a different ring wing on his car.

It was a session that saw many drivers going off the track with both Sergio Perez and Leclerc going into the run off area.

Alex Albon was forced to retire after clipping his front right wheel on the barrier after Turns 15 and 16 with just over 25 minutes of the session left.

Having had an incident in FP1, Mick Schumacher was again forced to return to the pits momentarily when something was seen flapping on his Haas car.

You can read the full report of the session here.

Results: Second Practice (FP2) – 2022 Azerbaijan GP

1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:43.224
2 Sergio Perez Red Bull 0.248s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0.356s
4 Fernando Alonso Alpine 0.918s
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1.050s
6 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1.091s
7 George Russell Mercedes 1.324s
8 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1.343s
9 Esteban Ocon Alpine 1.385s
10 Lando Norris McLaren 1.547s
11 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1.557
12 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1.650s
13 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 1.650s
14 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1.835s
15 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Racing 1.891s
16 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo Racing 2.040s
17 Kevin Magnussen Haas 2.364s
18 Alex Albon Williams 3.173s
19 Mick Schumacher Haas 3.201s
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams 3.994s