F1 2022 results: Dutch Grand Prix – Third Practice session

Michelle Foster
Charles Leclerc, Ferrari, at the French GP. Paul Ricard, July 2022.

Ferrari's Charles Leclerc at the French Grand Prix. Paul Ricard, July 2022.

Charles Leclerc pipped George Russell in final practice at the Dutch Grand Prix, the duo separated by just 0.066s.

Quick out of the blocks, local favourite Max Verstappen laid down a 1:12.196 to sit half a second up on Leclerc in what was a very different picture to Friday’s second practice.

Carlos Sainz briefly pipped the Red Bull driver, up by two-tenths, but lost the lead to Leclerc. The Monégasque driver spent some time in the Ferrari garage for set-up changes, ventured back out and put in a 1:11.632.

Russell improved to second on his second run, finishing ahead of Verstappen and Carlos Sainz.

Prior to Saturday’s running, the Mercedes driver ruled out the possibility of him fighting for pole position but it may be closer than he though.

Lewis Hamilton was fifth fastest ahead of Sergio Perez, Fernando Alonso and Sebastian Vettel.

Mick Schumacher and Lando Norris, the latter another stuck in the garage for a while as McLaren changed his front suspension, completed the top ten.

The Alfa Romeo team-mates were the last two drivers to venture out, the team opting to sit out the first 20 minutes as they waited for optimal conditions.

Valtteri Bottas was 18th with Zhou Guanyu P19.

Traffic once again proved problematic around the 4.259km, circuit, Hamilton amongst other drivers who had to abort a quick lap when he came screaming up behind another car on the blind spot on the apex of Turn 7. Sainz was also left annoyed with Perez.

The full FP3 timesheet is below and the full PlanetF1 report on second practice is here.


1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:11.632
2 George Russell Mercedes + 0.066
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull + 0.161
4 Carlos Sainz Ferrari + 0.339
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes + 0.524
6 Sergio Perez Red Bull + 0.544
7 Fernando Alonso Alpine + 0.695
8 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin + 0.859
9 Mick Schumacher Haas + 0.926
10 Lando Norris McLaren + 0.959
11 Kevin Magnussen Haas + 0.974
12 Lance Stroll Aston Martin + 1.141
13 Alex Albon Williams + 1.143
14 Esteban Ocon Alpine + 1.371
15 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri + 1.414
16 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri + 1.624
17 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren + 1.667
18 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Racing + 1.727
19 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo Racing + 1.789
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams + 1.993