F1 2022 results: Dutch Grand Prix – Second Practice session

Jon Wilde
Charles Leclerc's Ferrari goes around the banking in Dutch GP practice. Zandvoort September 2022.

Charles Leclerc's Ferrari goes around the banking in Dutch Grand Prix practice. Zandvoort September 2022.

Ferrari secured a one-two in the second practice session for the Dutch Grand Prix at Zandvoort as Charles Leclerc pipped his team-mate Carlos Sainz to top spot.

Only four one-thousandths of a second separated the Scuderia duo, who will be aiming to upset Max Verstappen at his home event following his easy victory there last year.

The second hour of track running was delayed due to incidents in the preceding Formula 2 qualifying session – and also coincided with some breaking driver news.

That was the confirmation of Oscar Piastri’s move to McLaren next season to partner Lando Norris, with the Woking team having won their tug-of-war with Alpine for the Australian’s services that had been referred to the FIA’s Contract Recognition Board.

Piastri will therefore partner Lando Norris who, along with his current team-mate Daniel Ricciardo, had been in the top five during an encouraging FP1 for McLaren.

Verstappen, in contrast, had suffered a highly disappointing FP1 when he had to stop on track with a gearbox problem in his Red Bull early in the session, and the home fans did not have a huge amount to cheer in the second hour.

Red Bull had been so dominant with a one-two finish at the previous week’s Belgian Grand Prix, Verstappen and Sergio Perez putting everyone else in the shade, but at Zandvoort they look off the pace of Ferrari and Mercedes so far. They ended FP2 in eighth and 12th positions.

Yuki Tsunoda‘s afternoon came to an end when he beached his AlphaTauri in the gravel, bringing out the red flags with 12 minutes remaining in the session, leaving only four minutes more of running when his car had been cleared.

The full FP2 timesheet is below and the full PlanetF1 report on second practice is here.


1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:12.345
2 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +0.004
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +0.072
4 Lando Norris McLaren +0.103
5 George Russell Mercedes +0.310
6 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +0.401
7 Fernando Alonso Alpine +0.503
8 Max Verstappen Red Bull +0.697
9 Esteban Ocon Alpine +0.960
10 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +1.017
11 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +1.074
12 Sergio Perez Red Bul +1.148
13 Mick Schumacher Haas +1.259
14 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +1.266
15 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +1.279
16 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri +1.321
17 Alex Albon Williams +1.492
18 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +1.822
19 Kevin Magnussen Haas +1.937
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams +2.452