F1 2022 results: French GP – Second Practice session

Mark Scott
Carlos Sainz celebrates pole. Silverstone July 2022.

Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz pumps his fist after taking his first ever pole position. Silverstone July 2022.

Ferrari continued to set the early pace at Paul Ricard ahead of the 2022 French Grand Prix.

But, unlike FP1 where Charles Leclerc topped the timesheet, this time it was over to Carlos Sainz to take top spot after setting a 1:32:527 during his qualifying simulation run on the soft tyres.

Leclerc completed a Ferrari 1-2, just 0.101s behind, with World Championship leader Max Verstappen locking out a rather familiar looking top three. The Red Bull driver was half a second down on his former Toro Rosso team-mate, Sainz.

The two Mercedes drivers followed next in the pecking order. George Russell was P4, seven tenths off the pace, while Lewis Hamilton, who sat out FP1 to give Mercedes reserve Nyck de Vries a run in his car as part of the mandatory ‘young driver’ programme, was a couple of tenths down on his team-mate.

Lando Norris finished the session P6, with McLaren team-mate Daniel Ricciardo also featuring in the top 10 down in P9.

Pierre Gasly, Kevin Magnussen and Sergio Perez also featured in the top 10.

The full results from FP2 at Paul Ricard ahead of the 2022 French Grand Prix are as follows with all best times set on the soft tyre.

Click here for the full FP2 report.

1 Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:32.527
2 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 0.101s
3 Max Verstappen Red Bull 0.550s
4 George Russell Mercedes 0.764s
5 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 0.990s
6 Lando Norris McLaren 1.080s
7 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri 1.379s
8 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1.401s
9 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren 1.457s
10 Sergio Perez Red Bull 1.533s
11 Fernando Alonso Alpine 1.732s
12 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Racing 1.737s
13 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin 1.893s
14 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 2.013s
15 Lance Stroll Aston Martin 2.068s
16 Alex Albon Williams 2.126s
17 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo Racing 2.127s
18 Esteban Ocon Alpine 2.133s
19 Mick Schumacher Haas 2.668s
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams 2.885s