F1 2022 results: Mexican Grand Prix – Race (Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez)

Sam Cooper
Max Verstappen leads the F1 2022 Mexican Grand Prix. Mexico City, October 2022.

Red Bull's Max Verstappen leads the race ahead of the two Mercedes. Mexico City, October 2022.

Max Verstappen held Lewis Hamilton at arm’s length as he broke the record for the highest number of wins in a single season.

With the Dutchman starting in P1 ahead of the two Mercedes, the pre-race chat was focused on who would be leading come the end of Turn 1 but Verstappen pulled away well to maintain his advantage.

The same cannot be said of George Russell who made a poor start, bouncing over the kerb, and slipped behind both Hamilton and Sergio Perez.

As the race wore on, it became a battle of strategies with Mercedes, who started on the medium compared to Red Bull’s softs, able to extend their session as Verstappen came into pits.

When Mercedes did eventually pit, they opted for the hard tyre, believing that Red Bull would be forced into a second stop later on but that did not prove to be the case.

Verstappen extended his lead to 17 seconds before a Virtual Safety Car was deployed following an engine failure in Fernando Alonso’s Alpine.

The minor disruption did not shake up the top order as Verstappen crossed the line first for the 14th time this season, surpassing the record of Michael Schumacher and Sebastian Vettel.

Mexican Grand Prix full results: 

1 Max VERSTAPPEN Red Bull Racing Leader
2 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes +15.186
3 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull Racing +18.097
4 George RUSSELL Mercedes +49.431
5 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari +57.341
6 Charles LECLERC Ferrari +65.831
7 Daniel RICCIARDO McLaren +1 lap
8 Esteban OCON Alpine +1 lap
9 Lando NORRIS McLaren +1 lap
10 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo +1 lap
11 Pierre GASLY AlphaTauri +1 lap
12 Alexander ALBON Williams +1 lap
13 ZHOU Guanyu Alfa Romeo +1 lap
14 Sebastian VETTEL Aston Martin +1 lap
15 Lance STROLL Aston Martin +1 lap
16 Mick SCHUMACHER Haas F1 Team +1 lap
17 Kevin MAGNUSSEN Haas F1 Team +1 lap
18 Nicholas LATIFI Williams +2 laps
19 Fernando ALONSO Alpine – DNF
20 Yuki TSUNODA AlphaTauri – DNF