F1 2022 results: Monaco GP – Third Practice session


Here are the complete results from the third and final practice session at the Circuit de Monaco, where Sergio Perez has thrown down the gauntlet to Ferrari.

Perez laid down a marker ahead of qualifying in Monaco, with the Red Bull driver setting the fastest time of the final practice session.

Perez was involved in a tete-a-tete with Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc as the pair traded fastest times at the head of the pack on their soft-tyre qualifying simulations.

It initially looked like Leclerc had won the battle with a 1:12.517 until Perez’s final flying lap pipped him by just 0.041 seconds.

Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz and Red Bull’s Max Verstappen also had a brief stint at the top but ultimately had to cede defeat to the speed shown by their team-mates. Sainz finished three tenths down on Leclerc, while Verstappen was a further 0.035 down on Sainz.

Behind the Red Bull and Ferrari battle, Pierre Gasly led the best of the rest as he placed fifth for AlphaTauri ahead of McLaren’s Lando Norris.

It was a very straightforward practice session with no significant incidents – the biggest encounter with the barriers being for Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll, who clipped the barrier exiting the Swimming Pool section.

The all-important qualifying session to determine the starting grid for the 2022 Monaco Grand Prix gets under way at 3pm UK time, 4pm local time.

Read our full report on the third practice session.

Results: Third Practice (FP3) – 2022 Monaco GP

  1. Sergio Perez Red Bull 1:12.476
  2. Charles Leclerc Ferrari +0.041
  3. Carlos Sainz Ferrari +0.370
  4. Max Verstappen Red Bull +0.405
  5. Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri +0.734
  6. Lando Norris McLaren +0.750
  7. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +0.899
  8. Kevin Magnussen Haas +0.960
  9. George Russell Mercedes +1.000
  10. Fernando Alonso Alpine +1.109
  11. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +1.169
  12. Mick Schumacher Haas +1.351
  13. Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +1.362
  14. Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +1.373
  15. Alex Albon Williams +1.406
  16. Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +1.628
  17. Esteban Ocon Alpine +1.784
  18. Lance Stroll Aston Martin +2.163
  19. Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +2.385
  20. Nicholas Latifi Williams +2.434