F1 2022 results: Singapore Grand Prix – Third Practice session

Jon Wilde
Marshals sweeping water off the track. Singapore GP. October 2022.

Marshals sweeping water off the track. Singapore Grand Prix October 2022.

Charles Leclerc was fastest ahead of World Champion-elect Max Verstappen by over half a second in a shortened final free practice for the Singapore Grand Prix.

FP3 was slashed to a half-hour session due to heavy rain, the clock ticking down but the pit-lane remaining closed until it had reached 30:00.

When the action did begin, Pierre Gasly in the AlphaTauri was first out on the full wet tyres followed by his team-mate Yuki Tsunoda and Valtteri Bottas.

The Finn, in the Alfa Romeo, told his team over the radio it was nearly time for intermediates – as McLaren were the only other constructor to send out their drivers before the 20-minute mark.

Nicholas Latifi, who was recently informed he would not be driving for Williams next year, told the team his car was undrivable due to a steering wheel issue as the switch to inters kicked in.

Darkness fell and Verstappen occupied his familiar place at the top of the timesheet as Haas botched a pit-stop for Mick Schumacher on his right rear wheel. Fortunately, the German had not got far up the pit lane and was wheeled back for the problem to be resolved. However, the stewards announced an unsafe released would be investigated.

Leclerc took over in P1, followed by Verstappen and his Ferrari team-mate Carlos Sainz as the track continued to evolve, with some big gaps through the field as attention turned to what the weather would do for qualifying – rain was forecast to remain in the vicinity of the circuit.

Read more: Our full report for Singapore Grand Prix FP3


1 Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:57.782
2 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing +0.526
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +1.066
4 Fernando Alonso Alpine +1.647
5 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing +1.744
6 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +2.591
7 Esteban Ocon Alpine +3.129
8 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +3.225
9 George Russell Mercedes +3.228
10 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren +3.254
11 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team +3.307
12 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +3.438
13 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri +3.463
14 Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team +3.720
15 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +3.897
16 Lando Norris McLaren +4.009
17 Alexander Albon Williams +4.125
18 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +4.284
19 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +4.817
20 Nicholas Latifi Williams +5.728