F1 2023 practice results: FP1 timings and lap counts from the Bahrain Grand Prix

Thomas Maher
Red Bull's Sergio Perez during practice for the 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix. Sakhir, March 2023. results

Red Bull's Sergio Perez during practice for the 2023 Bahrain Grand Prix. Sakhir, March 2023.

Here are the complete results from the first practice session in Bahrain, where Red Bull have set the pace to kick off the new season.

Sergio Perez has set the pace in the first practice session in Bahrain, with the Red Bull driver putting in a 1:32.758 on the soft compound Pirellis to finish almost half a second clear of Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso.

Alonso split the two Red Bulls, as Max Verstappen finished the hour-long daytime session in third, a further two-tenths back from the Aston.

Lando Norris was an encouraging fourth place for McLaren, although both he and teammate Oscar Piastri had to take to the escape areas after running wide during the one hour session.

The most dramatic moment of FP1 came courtesy of Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz as the Spaniard ran over the outside kerbs on entry into Turn 10. Losing the rear, Sainz spun around at high-speed but made use of the ample run-off area to gather back up his car and resume the circuit.

After sitting out all of pre-season testing, Lance Stroll took part in his first on-track action since his cycling accident – the Canadian driver finished the session in sixth after being forced to stay in the garage for the first half hour as a result of an ignition issue on his Aston Martin.

Here’s the full PlanetF1.com report on all the events of first practice from the Bahrain Grand Prix.

1 Sergio Perez RED BULL 1:32.758 20 LAPS
2 Fernando Alonso ASTON MARTIN +0.438 21 LAPS
3 Max Verstappen RED BULL +0.617 20 LAPS
4 Lando Norris MCLAREN +1.407 20 LAPS
5 Charles Leclerc FERRARI +1.499 16 LAPS
6 Lance Stroll ASTON MARTIN +1.540 16 LAPS
7 Kevin Magnussen HAAS +1.644 19 LAPS
8 Zhou Guanyu ALFA ROMEO +1.817 18 LAPS
9 Valtteri Bottas ALFA ROMEO +1.931 19 LAPS
10 Lewis Hamilton MERCEDES +2.159 13 LAPS
11 George Russell MERCEDES +2.208 19 LAPS
12 Oscar Piastri MCLAREN +2.239 23 LAPS
13 Yuki Tsunoda ALPHATAURI +2.257 19 LAPS
14 Nico Hulkenberg HAAS +2.285 21 LAPS
15 Esteban Ocon ALPINE +2.347 19 LAPS
16 Nyck De Vries ALPHATAURI +2.644 24 LAPS
17 Pierre Gasly ALPINE +2.697 21 LAPS
18 Logan Sargeant WILLIAMS +2.991 23 LAPS
19 Alex Albon WILLIAMS +3.260 14 LAPS
20 Carlos Sainz FERRARI +3.314 20 LAPS