F1 2023 results: FP1 timings from Australian Grand Prix practice

Henry Valantine
Ferrari driver Carlos Sainz in FP1. Melbourne March F1 2023 results.

Carlos Sainz rounds Albert Park in free practice on Friday for Ferrari. Australia March 2023.

The latest set of F1 2023 results are in, after FP1 took place for the Australian Grand Prix around Albert Park in Melbourne on Friday.

In terms of outright pace, it looked to be smooth sailing once again for Red Bull, with Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez having topped the times, though both drivers appeared to struggle at different moments throughout FP1 – and Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton was able to split them with his quickest time of the session.

The Red Bull duo were showing signs of rear locking at a couple of points, with Verstappen spinning late in the session on the exit of Turn 4 after missing the apex, but there will be plenty of time across two more practice sessions to fine-tune the RB19 to get the car where they need it to be.

The session was briefly red-flagged as the GPS system for the teams stopped working, meaning the pit walls were unable to track where their drivers were – with several laps having to be aborted as drivers complained of traffic jams around Albert Park.

That delay ended soft tyre running for most of the drivers, who had been looking to set their fastest laps of the sessions at that point. Fernando Alonso of Aston Martin managed to just about sneak into third place before the red flags were waved, ahead of the Ferrari duo of Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz to round out the top five.

PlanetF1.com recommends

Ferrari and Mercedes hold off on upgrades in Melbourne ahead of planned changes for Europe
Former F1 driver urges Australian fans to be ‘realistic with Oscar Piastri’ ahead of first home race
Watch the Australian Grand Prix weekend ad-free with F1 TV Pro!

F1 2023 results: Free Practice 1, Australian Grand Prix, Friday 31st March

1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:18.790 17 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes + 0.433 20 laps
3 Sergio Perez Red Bull + 0.503 19 laps
4 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin + 0.527 23 laps
5 Charles Leclerc Ferrari + 0.588 16 laps
6 Carlos Sainz Ferrari + 0.715 20 laps
7 Lando Norris McLaren + 0.746 16 laps
8 Pierre Gasly Alpine + 0.856 22 laps
9 George Russell Mercedes + 0.909 23 laps
10 Lance Stroll Aston Martin + 0.976 19 laps
11 Alex Albon Williams + 0.976 21 laps
12 Oscar Piastri McLaren + 0.987 22 laps
13 Nico Hulkenberg Haas + 1.016 19 laps
14 Nyck de Vries AlphaTauri + 1.143 25 laps
15 Logan Sargeant Williams + 1.284 21 laps
16 Esteban Ocon Alpine + 1.385 20 laps
17 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri + 1.609 14 laps
18 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Racing + 1.629 21 laps
19 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo Racing + 1.779 22 laps
20 Kevin Magnussen Haas + 2.357 17 laps