F1 2023 results: Sprint results and standings from the Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Thomas Maher
Red Bull's Sergio Perez at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Baku, April 2023.

Red Bull's Sergio Perez at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Baku, April 2023.

Red Bull’s Sergio Perez has won the Sprint race at the Azerbaijan Grand Prix, leading home Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc.

Perez won the sprint race in Baku, taking the victory after overtaking Charles Leclerc in the early stages after the Ferrari driver held the lead from pole position.

The race was quickly neutralised under the Virtual Safety Car in the early laps, and then the Safety Car, due to a bizarre incident with Yuki Tsunoda striking the wall in the second sector and damaging his AlphaTauri.

Pitting for fresh tyres, his car had damaged suspension, resulting in him slowly circulating back to the pits as the race was put on hold to clean up the debris from the racing line.

Once the race resumed, Perez latched onto the back of Leclerc and, using DRS, overtook the Ferrari into Turn 1. From there, he controlled the gap to Leclerc.

Max Verstappen, who had a slightly slow start to the race after being overtaken by George Russell, got back past the Mercedes at the restart, but was powerless to make any further advances – the championship leader came home in third place to complete the sprint podium after picking up some sidepod damage while fighting with Russell on the opening lap.

Verstappen was furious after the race, confronting Russell to discuss the incident as the British driver apologised for the contact.

Perez’s win means he scores eight points, Leclerc seven points, Verstappen six points, and so on up until eighth place.

PlanetF1.com recommends

Sprint: Sergio Perez leapfrogs Charles Leclerc to take Saturday Baku victory

Azerbaijan Grand Prix Sprint Race Results:

  1. 1 – Sergio Perez Red Bull 17 Laps
  2. 2 – Charles Leclerc Ferrari +4.463
  3. 3 – Max Verstappen Red Bull +5.065
  4. 4 – George Russell Mercedes +8.532
  5. 5 – Carlos Sainz Ferrari +10.388
  6. 6 – Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +11.613
  7. 7 – Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +16.503
  8. 8 – Lance Stroll Aston Martin +18.417
  9. 9 – Alex Albon Williams +21.757
  10. 10 – Oscar Piastri McLaren +22.851
  11. 11 – Kevin Magnussen Haas +27.990
  12. 12 – Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +34.602
  13. 13 – Pierre Gasly Alpine +36.918
  14. 14 – Nyck de Vries AlphaTauri +41.626
  15. 15 – Nico Hulkenberg Haas +48.587
  16. 16 – Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +49.917
  17. 17 – Lando Norris McLaren +51.104
  18. 18 – Esteban Ocon Alpine +60.621
  19. 19 – Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri DNF
  20. 20 – Logan Sargeant Williams DNS