F1 stars of the future honoured as prestigious BRDC award nominees confirmed

Henry Valantine
F1 Academy driver Abbi Pulling.

Alpine junior driver Abbi Pulling drives in an F1 Academy race at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

The 10-driver shortlist for the 2023 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award has been finalised, with top British talents from across several series nominated for their driving efforts.

This prestigious award was first introduced in 1989 to honour one outstanding British talent for a standout season in the junior categories (FIA F3 or below), with the prize helping them on their way in their junior career.

This year’s winner will receive a £200,000 prize and a test in an Aston Martin Formula 1 car, with the winner set to be announced at the Autosport Awards in early December.

Which drivers are nominated for Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year 2023?

(Current championship standing in brackets)

Taylor Barnard (13th place, FIA F3)
James Hedley (4th place, GB3)
Arvid Lindblad (1st place, Italian F4)
Joseph Loake (3rd place, GB3)
William Macintyre (1st place, British F4)
Tom Mills (1st place, GB4)
Abbi Pulling (5th place, F1 Academy)
Matthew Rees (5th place, GB3)
Louis Sharp (2nd place, British F4)
Callum Voisin (1st place, GB3)

The esteemed judging panel is headed up by BRDC vice-president and F1 driver steward Derek Warwick, along with multiple past winners of the award and successful British motorsport figures.

That 10-driver shortlist is due to be whittled down to four later in the year, and the judges are able to add any wildcard entries later for anyone who has an outstanding second half of the season.

Testing will then take place at Silverstone as the final drivers tackle Formula 2, LMP3 and GT3 cars as a test of their all-round skill, before the winner is announced at the Autosport Awards on Sunday 3 December.

PlanetF1.com recommends

F1 driver contracts: What is the current contract status of every driver on the 2023 grid?

F1 stats: 11 times drivers single-handedly would’ve won the Constructors’ title

Who are some notable previous winners of the award?

The inaugural winner of the Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year in 1989 was a young driver by the name of David Coulthard, who went on to become a big success story in Formula 1 with 13 Grand Prix victories to his name across a lengthy career.

Eventual four-time IndyCar champion and three-time Indy 500 winner Dario Franchitti won it in 1992, and now sits on the judging panel, and former Jordan driver Ralph Firman won a year later in 1993.

One driver has won this award and gone on to win a Formula 1 World Championship (so far), with Jenson Button earning the prize in 1998 before making his F1 debut in 2000.

Former F1 drivers Anthony Davidson and Paul di Resta won the award in 2000 and 2004 respectively, and for those who have made their way onto the current F1 grid, George Russell was Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year in 2014 (beating fellow nominee Alex Albon to the crown that year), before Lando Norris took the prize in 2016.

It’s an impressive roll of honour that the eventual winner will be joining, then, come December.

Read next: The exciting junior talent with comparisons to Verstappen, Hamilton and Leclerc