F1 ratifies record-breaking 23-race calendar

Mark Scott
Formula 1 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix - Race

Formula 1 can prove that hybrids have a "great future".

It’s officially in the books…now let’s see if Formula 1 is able to get back to a more normal schedule with 23 races to come in 2021.

Formula 1 tried to kick-start a 22-race calendar back in March with the now traditional season opener in Australia, but the global health pandemic ensured the roadshow was put on hold until July, where the start of a reduced 17-race calendar began with two races in Austria.

The powers that be deserve an enormous amount of credit for formalising a new schedule and completing the season without any further major disruption, and now another challenge awaits as Formula 1 attempts to get through what would be a record-breaking 23-race calendar in 2021.

There are only a couple of minor changes from the draft version released in November. Interlagos’ spot on the calendar is now thankfully firmly locked in following the agreement of a new five-year deal and the proposed night race in Jeddah is now subject to track homologation.

The venue of the fourth race of the season, due to be held on April 25, is still yet to be decided with the likes of Imola, Mugello, Istanbul, Portimao and the Nurburgring all reportedly on the shortlist again after stepping in to help Formula 1 with their revised 2021 calendar.

An asterisk remains in place next to the Spanish Grand Prix at Barcelona as a new deal between track promoter and Formula 1 is still yet to be formalised.

The FIA officially ratified the 2021 calendar at the fourth and final World Motorsport Council meeting of the year chaired by FIA chairman Jean Todt on December 16.

The full ratified 2021 calendar is as follows:

March, 21 – Australian GP, Melbourne
March 28 – Bahrain GP, Sakhir
April 11 – Chinese GP, Shanghai
April 25 – TBC
May 9 – Spanish GP, Barcelona*
May 23 – Monaco GP, Monte Carlo
June 6 – Azerbaijan GP, Baku
June 13 – Canadian GP, Montreal
June 27 – French GP, Paul Ricard
July 4 – Austrian GP, Spielberg
July 18 – British GP, Silverstone
August 1 – Hungarian GP, Budapest
August 29 – Belgian GP, Spa-Francorchamps
September 6 – Dutch GP, Zandvoort
September 12 – Italian GP, Monza
September 26 – Russian GP, Sochi
October 3 – Singapore GP, Marina Bay
October 10 – Japanese GP, Suzuka
October 24 – U.S. GP, Austin
October 31 – Mexican GP, Mexico City
November 14 – Brazilian GP, Sao Paulo
November 28 – Saudi Arabian GP, Jeddah **
December 5 – Abu Dhabi GP, Yas Marina

*subject to promoter agreement
**subject to track homologation

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1, like our Facebook page and join us on Instagram!