F1 start time: What time does Austrian Grand Prix qualifying start? How to watch and more

Henry Valantine
F1 start time, Austrian Grand Prix qualifying.

After the Sprint, qualifying will take place for the Austrian Grand Prix.

After the Sprint, here is the F1 start time information you need for qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix.

The Sprint action will get underway at 11am local time at the Red Bull Ring, but the drivers will then have to dust themselves down and qualify for the main event later on Saturday.

What time does Austrian Grand Prix qualifying start?

Qualifying for the Austrian Grand Prix will start at 3pm local time on Saturday 29 June 2024, which equates to these times in the following territories around the world:

United States and Canada*: 7am Pacific Daylight Time, 8am Central Daylight Time, 9am Eastern
Mexico: 7am [Mexico City]
United Kingdom: 2pm
Central European Time**: 3pm
South Africa: 3pm
Gulf Standard Time: 5pm
India: 6.30pm
Indonesia*: 8pm [Western Indonesia Time]
China: 9pm
Singapore: 9pm
Malaysia: 9pm
Philippines: 9pm
Japan: 10pm
Australia*: 11pm [Australian Eastern Standard Time]
New Zealand: 1am [New Zealand Standard Time] [Sunday 30 June]

*Convert to check locally if you do not live in an area of this territory with these time zones.

**Covers 30 nations and territories: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czechia, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain (except the Canary Islands), Sweden, Switzerland, Vatican City.

How to watch the Austrian Grand Prix on TV

Different nations and territories around the world have their own broadcasting rights deals with Formula 1, and here is a selection of where F1 fans will be able to watch from across the globe, be it through pay TV or free-to-air:

Africa: SuperSport
Australia: Fox Sports, Foxtel, Kayo
Brazil: BandSports, TV Bandeirantes
Canada: RDS (French), TSN (English), Noovo
Central Asia: Setanta Sports
China: CCTV
France: Canal+
Germany: Sky Sport F1
India: FanCode
Italy: Sky Sport F1, TV8
Japan: DAZN, Fuji TV
Latin America (except Argentina and Mexico): ESPN
Malaysia: beIN Sports
Mexico: Fox Sports
Middle East and North Africa: beIN Sports
Netherlands: Viaplay
New Zealand: Sky Sport, Prime (highlights)
Pakistan: A Sports
Republic of Ireland: Sky Sports F1, Channel 4 UK (highlights)
South Korea: Coupang
Spain: DAZN
United Kingdom: Sky Sports F1, Channel 4 (highlights)
United States: ESPN+, ESPN Deportes

Don’t miss any Formula 1 action this season with PlanetF1.com

👉 F1 2024: Where to buy, how to watch, cheapest ticket prices and best package deals

👉 Follow PlanetF1.com’s WhatsApp channel for all the F1 breaking news!

Austrian Grand Prix qualifying live stream: How to watch online

F1 fans will be able to stream the Austrian Grand Prix online through platforms such as NOW and Sky Go in the UK.

F1 TV Pro is available worldwide in selected territories, which offers exclusive features like onboard cameras from all 20 cars, pre and post-race shows and much more.

F1 TV Pro is also able to be live streamed via Apple TV, Chromecast Generation 2 and above, Android TV, Google TV, Amazon Fire TV, and Roku, without ad breaks and with commentary available in six languages.

Here is a list of all the territories where F1 TV Pro is available.

What is the F1 qualifying format used and how does it work?

F1 qualifying is broken down into three parts over the course of an hour and uses a knockout format to determine the grid, which has proven extremely popular since it was introduced into the sport:

Q1: 18 minutes

Five drivers are eliminated at the end of this period, setting places 16 to 20 on the grid, with drivers able to set as many timed laps as they wish within the 18-minute stint.

Q2: 15 minutes

After an eight-minute break, the remaining 15 cars go out for another session before another five drop out at the end of Q2, setting places 11-15 on the grid. The same rules apply, with drivers allowed to set as many timed laps as they like within 15 minutes.

Q3: 12 minutes

After a seven-minute gap, the final 10 cars re-emerge onto the track for the shootout for pole position. At the end of the final 12-minute session, the top 10 places on the grid are decided for the Grand Prix.

For a full look at the intricacies and other rules around F1 qualifying, here is a full breakdown of the current format.

Read next: F1 start time: What time does the Austrian Grand Prix start? How to watch and live stream