F1 starting grid: What is the grid order for the Australian Grand Prix?

Henry Valantine
Max Verstappen going round a corner. Melbourne, Australia, March 2023.

Max Verstappen going round a corner. Melbourne, Australia, March 2023.

The final F1 starting grid for the Australian Grand Prix has been set for Sunday, and several surprises came to the fore as the drivers struggled to get their tyres working throughout qualifying.

Cool temperatures in Melbourne saw the drivers opt to take multiple laps on the same tyres throughout the session, but it was Max Verstappen who took pole position after battling downshift issues through qualifying.

The reigning World Champion will be joined by George Russell on the front row of the Melbourne grid, Lewis Hamilton and Fernando Alonso making up row two.

As for the other Red Bull, Sergio Perez exited qualifying early after locking up at Turn 3 on his first flying lap, sliding into the gravel trap and bemoaning a continuation of the problem on his RB19 that plagued his FP3 session.

He’ll be starting from the pit lane after Red Bull made changes to the car overnight while also fitted his RB19 with a third energy store and a third control electronics.

The Mexican driver will have company in the pit lane as Alfa Romeo also made changes to Valtteri Bottas’ C43 overnight, the driver perplexed by his lack of pace in qualifying that left him down in 19th place.

PlanetF1.com recommends

Daniel Ricciardo provides update on F1 future as he returns to paddock

Lewis Hamilton reveals future space trip around the Moon with Elon Musk

Jenson Button criticises Sergio Perez quali approach after early retirement

F1 starting grid: 2023 Australian Grand Prix

1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:16.732
2 George Russell Mercedes + 0.236
3 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes + 0.372
4 Fernando Alonso Aston Martin + 0.407
5 Carlos Sainz Ferrari + 0.538
6 Lance Stroll Aston Martin + 0.576
7 Charles Leclerc Ferrari + 0.637
8 Alex Albon Williams + 0.877
9 Pierre Gasly Alpine + 0.943
10 Nico Hulkenberg Haas + 1.003
11 Esteban Ocon Alpine 1:17.768
12 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri +0.331
13 Lando Norris McLaren +0.351
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team +0.361
15 Nyck de Vries AlphaTauri +0.567
16 Oscar Piastri McLaren 1:18.157
17 Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo +0.023
18 Logan Sargeant Williams +0.040
19 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo Pit lane
20 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing Pit lane

[Correct as of Sunday 2 April 2023]