F1 starting grid: What is the grid order for the 2023 Mexican Grand Prix?

Sam Cooper
Lando Norris

Lando Norris pulls in the McLaren pits.

The grid for Sunday’s Mexican Grand Prix has been set after an incident-filled qualifying session.

No fewer than eight drivers found themselves in the race stewards’ bad books and even as the final car crossed the line, no one was quite sure who would be starting where on Sunday.

The front row at least was confirmed with Ferrari securing a one-two for the first time since the 2022 Monaco Grand Prix.

In the end, every driver investigated was cleated meaning the provisional staring grid turning into the confirmed one.

F1 starting grid: 2023 Mexican Grand Prix

1 Charles LECLERC Ferrari
2 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari
4 Daniel RICCIARDO AlphaTauri
5 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull 
6 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes
7 Oscar PIASTRI McLaren
8 George RUSSELL Mercedes
9 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo 
10 ZHOU Guanyu Alfa Romeo
11 Pierre GASLY Alpine
13 Fernando ALONSO Aston Martin
14 Alexander ALBON Williams
15 Esteban OCON Alpine
16 Kevin MAGNUSSEN Haas
18 Lando NORRIS McLaren
19 Yuki TSUNODA AlphaTauri*
20 Logan SARGEANT Williams*

Pit-lane start Lance STROLL Aston Martin

*Grid penalty