F1 starting grid: What is the grid order for the Monaco Grand Prix?

Mark Scott
Max Verstappen close-up shot. March 2023

Max Verstappen close-up shot. March 2023

The provisional F1 starting grid for the 2023 Monaco Grand Prix has been set with Red Bull’s Max Verstappen to start from pole position.

Verstappen saved his very best until last in a thrilling battle for pole position and will be joined on the front row by Fernando Alonso in the Aston Martin.

The second row was going to consist of Charles Leclerc from P3 in his home race, alongside Alpine’s Esteban Ocon, who was one of the stars of the show on Saturday afternoon, but a three-place grid penalty for impeding Lando Norris in Q3 scuppered Leclerc’s plans.

Instead, Ocon now heads the second row with Carlos Sainz in the Ferrari for company, with Lewis Hamilton and Leclerc filling the third row.

Pierre Gasly, George Russell, Yuki Tsunoda and Lando Norris will complete the top 10.

In amongst the usual suspects in the bottom half of the grid are two glaring stand-outs for all the wrong reasons. Lance Stroll is set to start from P14 after a very disappointing qualifying session and Sergio Perez has delivered a huge blow to his own title hopes after a costly crash in Q1.

He will start Sunday’s race all the way down in P20 and has a real mountain to climb with Monaco notoriously difficult for overtaking opportunities. Check out the full F1 starting grid below.

PlanetF1.com’s recommended reading

Lewis Hamilton crash gifts F1 rivals amazing chance to see new W14 floor

Sky F1 team in stitches as Martin Brundle conducts bizarre impromptu interview

F1 starting grid: 2023 Monaco Grand Prix

1. Max Verstappen Red Bull
2. Fernando Alonso Aston Martin
3. Esteban Ocon Alpine
4. Carlos Sainz Ferrari
5. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
6. Charles Leclerc Ferrari
7. Pierre Gasly Alpine
8. George Russell Mercedes
9. Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri
10 Lando Norris McLaren
11. Oscar Piastri McLaren
12. Nyck de Vries AlphaTauri
13. Alex Albon Williams
14. Lance Stroll Aston Martin
15. Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo
16. Logan Sargeant Williams
17. Kevin Magnussen Haas
18. Nico Hulkenberg Haas
19. Zhou Guanyu Alfa Romeo
20. Sergio Perez Red Bull