F1 starting grid: What is the grid order for the 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix?

Jamie Woodhouse
Entrance to the Formula 1 paddock at the 2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix.

Entrance to the Formula 1 paddock.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen eased his way to pole position at the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix, his first pole at the Jeddah Corniche Circuit.

The three-time World Champion topped all three sections of qualifying on his way to claiming the P1 grid slot, as he prepares to lead the pack away on Grand Prix Saturday.

Max Verstappen on pole for Saudi Arabian Grand Prix

Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc was the driver who managed to get the closest to Verstappen, and albeit three-tenths off the Dutchman’s pace, he will fancy his chances from the front row.

Leclerc displaced Verstappen’s Red Bull team-mate Sergio Perez from the front row with an impressive final run, as Perez is forced to settle for heading row two with Aston Martin’s Fernando Alonso for company.

Row three consists of the McLaren duo, Oscar Piastri ahead of Lando Norris, with an all-Mercedes row four of George Russell ahead of Lewis Hamilton. RB’s Yuki Tsunoda and Aston Martin’s Lance Stroll complete the top 10.

PlanetF1.com recommends

F1 Driver of the Day: Who has won the award in F1 2024?

F1 fastest lap: Which drivers have won the most fastest lap points in F1 2024?

Carlos Sainz’s Ferrari stand-in Oliver Bearman will lead the charge to break into the top 10 points-paying positions after securing a solid P11 on the grid on debut, with Williams’ Alex Albon providing the company on row six.

Haas’ Kevin Magnussen will be at the head of row seven with the RB of Daniel Ricciardo alongside him, while the other Haas of Nico Hulkenberg launches from P15 after a loss of power early in Q2.

Valtteri Bottas, Esteban Ocon, Pierre Gasly, Logan Sargeant and Zhou Guanyu – who ran out of time to set a Q1 lap following his heavy FP3 shunt – complete the starting grid for Saturday’s Saudi Arabian Grand Prix.

2024 Saudi Arabian Grand Prix grid

1. Max Verstappen, Red Bull
2. Charles Leclerc, Ferrari
3. Sergio Perez, Red Bull
4. Fernando Alonso, Aston Martin
5. Oscar Piastri, McLaren
6. Lando Norris, McLaren
7. George Russell, Mercedes
8. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes
9. Yuki Tsunoda, RB
10. Lance Stroll, Aston Martin
11. Oliver Bearman, Ferrari
12. Alex Albon, Williams
13. Kevin Magnussen, Haas
14. Daniel Ricciardo, RB
15. Nico Hulkenberg, Haas
16. Valtteri Bottas, Sauber
17. Esteban Ocon, Alpine
18. Pierre Gasly, Alpine
19. Logan Sargeant, Williams
20. Zhou Guanyu, Sauber

Read next – Saudi Arabian GP: Max Verstappen claims emphatic pole as Oliver Bearman impresses