Formula 1 2020 calendar confirmed

Jamie Woodhouse

The FIA have officially signed off the 22-race calendar and testing schedule for the 2020 Formula 1 season.

At a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council on Friday, the largest schedule in the history of F1 was confirmed, with the season starting in Australia on 15 March and ending in Abu Dhabi on 29 November.

Two new races will join the calendar next year – the Vietnam and the Dutch GPs. The Vietnam race will take place on 5 April , making it the third race of the season after Bahrain, while the Dutch GP at Zandvoort will be on 3 May, one week before the Spanish GP.

Both of the new venues, the Hanoi street track and Zandvoort, still need to be officially homologated.

There will be two three-day tests taking place before the season starts. The first will run from 19-21 February, with the second being held from 26-28 February.

The Circuit Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, home of the Spanish Grand Prix, remains the venue for both tests.

The WMSC are also discussing changes to the 2020 regulations, one such topic being the controversial reverse-grid sprint race proposal to replace qualifying at some tracks for next season.

But, any changes will be signed off at a later date via an electronic vote.

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.