Formula 1 2022 results – Mexican Grand Prix: FP1

Sam Cooper
Fernando Alonso driving the Alpine. Mexico City, October 2022.

Alpine's Fernando Alonso during FP1 of the Mexican Grand Prix. Mexico City, October 2022.

Carlos Sainz topped the timesheet in FP1 for the second race running as Ferrari finished one-two in Mexico.

The Spaniard was 0.046 seconds ahead of Charles Leclerc, with the two Red Bulls just behind them.

As in Austin, there were plenty of rookie drivers in cars for this session. Despite being signed on as an AlphaTauri driver for 2023, Nyck de Vries replaced George Russell in the Mercedes.

Jack Doohan, a 19-year-old Australian, made his debut in an F1 session as he stepped in for Esteban Ocon in the Alpine. Logan Sargeant was again in the Williams while Pietro Fittipaldi was in the Haas in place of Kevin Magnussen.

Liam Lawson was in the AlphaTauri instead of Yuki Tsunoda, but his session ended with four minutes to go as smoke poured from his left front brake.

Max Verstappen produced a rare mistake halfway through the session as he went over the kerb and then lost control of his car and spun off the track.

Almost with a laugh in his voice, Verstappen told his race engineer Gianpiero Lambiase there was “no grip” and he could not correct the slight movement caused by the kerb.

There were more reliability problems for Alfa Romeo with Zhou Guanyu left stranded just past the exit line of the pit lane. He was on the radio saying he could not upshift and had switched the engine off to prevent it from overheating. The session avoided a red flag then as marshals were able to wheel the car back even as one of the Haas cars passed on the way to the track.

Avoiding a red flag did not last long though as Fittipaldi stopped on track. It was the second time in as many FP1 sessions a stand-in Haas driver’s run-out had come to a premature end.

You can read PlanetF1’s full report here.

FP1 results: 2022 Mexican Grand Prix First Practice

1 Carlos SAINZ Ferrari 1:20.707
2 Charles LECLERC Ferrari +0.046
3 Sergio PEREZ Red Bull Racing +0.120
4 Max VERSTAPPEN Red Bull Racing +0.120
5 Lewis HAMILTON Mercedes +0.142
6 Fernando ALONSO Alpine +0.192
7 Valtteri BOTTAS Alfa Romeo +0.376
8 Lando NORRIS McLaren +0.413
9 Pierre GASLY AlphaTauri +0.603
10 Sebastian VETTEL Aston Martin +0.818
11 Daniel RICCIARDO McLaren +1.055
12 ZHOU Guanyu Alfa Romeo +1.113
13 Lance STROLL Aston Martin +1.158
14 Mick SCHUMACHER Haas F1 Team +1.245
15 Nicholas LATIFI Williams +2.205
16 Liam LAWSON AlphaTauri 
17 Logan SARGEANT Williams +3.539
18 Nyck DE VRIES Mercedes +3.875
19 Jack DOOHAN Alpine +3.908
20 Pietro FITTIPALDI Haas F1 Team +6.059