Formula 1 2022 results – Sao Paulo Grand Prix

Jon Wilde
George Russell in practice. Sao Paulo November 2022.

Mercedes driver George Russell runs during free practice at Interlagos. Brazil November 2022.

After winning for the first time in F1 in Saturday’s sprint, George Russell added his maiden grand prix victory 24 hours later at Interlagos.

Russell was making his 80th Formula 1 start in the Sao Paulo Grand Prix and came home ahead of his team-mate Lewis Hamilton to break Mercedes‘ duck for 2022 with a one-two finish.

The 24-year-old Briton led the field off the start line, but the Safety Car quickly made an appearance as sprint pole-sitter Kevin Magnussen and Daniel Ricciardo tangled in the midfield and both exited the race, bringing out the Safety Car.

There was further drama at the restart as Hamilton and Max Verstappen made contact, triggering a five-second time penalty for the double World Champion. There was also a penalty for 23rd birthday boy Lando Norris after a collision with Charles Leclerc, who ended up temporarily in the barrier but was able to continue.

Of the anxious moments for Russell, the first was after making his second pit-stop when he found Carlos Sainz close behind him, but he quickly rebuilt his gap. Then there was a Safety Car period for the removal of Norris’ stricken McLaren, at the end of which Russell fended off the challenge from Hamilton.

From there, Russell kept Hamilton at arm’s length, with Sainz completing the podium in third.

Sao Paulo Grand Prix result

1 George Russell Mercedes 71 laps
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +1.529
3 Carlos Sainz Ferrari +4.051
4 Charles Leclerc Ferrari +8.441
5 Fernando Alonso Alpine +9.561
6 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing +10.056
7 Sergio Perez Red Bull Racing +14.080
8 Esteban Ocon Alpine +18.690
9 Valtteri Bottas Alfa Romeo +22.552
10 Lance Stroll Aston Martin +23.552
11 Sebastian Vettel Aston Martin +26.183
12 Pierre Gasly AlphaTauri +26.867
13 Guanyu Zhou Alfa Romeo +29.325
14 Mick Schumacher Haas F1 Team +29.899
15 Alexander Albon Williams +36.160
16 Nicholas Latifi Williams +37.315
17 Yuki Tsunoda AlphaTauri 1 lap
18 Lando Norris McLaren DNF
19 Kevin Magnussen Haas F1 Team DNF
20 Daniel Ricciardo McLaren DNF