It’s official! Formula 1 to return on July 5

Mark Scott

Five most meaningful passes of 2019

Not long to wait now! Formula 1 is officially returning with eight European races starting from Sunday, July 5.

After six long months without racing action, Formula 1 has announced the first part of what they still hope will be a 15-18 race 2020 season.

The revised campaign will start with two races at the Red Bull Ring, the first being the traditional Austrian Grand Prix on July 5 and then a second race will be held the following week at the same track. However, this will be known as the Stiermark Grand Prix.

The Hungarian Grand Prix completes the opening triple-header on July 19 as the sport tries to make up for the huge amount of time lost when forced to axe on the original planned season back in March.

After prolonged negotiations between Formula 1, Silverstone officials and the UK government, there will be two races at the iconic British track. The traditional British Grand Prix is on August 2, while the newly-created 70th Anniversary Grand Prix will follow on the next weekend after.

Then it is off to the Circuit de Catalunya for the Spanish Grand Prix, then Spa and Monza will complete the first phase of the calendar, taking us up to September 6.

The rest of the Formula 1 calendar for 2020 is expected to be confirmed in the coming weeks.

European schedule in full:

July 5 – Austrian GP
Jul 12 – Steiermark GP
Jul 19 – Hungarian GP
Aug 2 – British GP
Aug 9 – 70th Anniversary GP
Aug 16 – Spanish GP
Aug 30 – Belgian GP
Sep 6 – Italian GP

Follow us on Twitter @Planet_F1 and like our Facebook page.