Indy 500 results: Full field qualifying results from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Jamie Woodhouse
The start of the 2022 Indianapolis 500. Indy 500 Indiana, May 2022.

The start of the 2022 Indianapolis 500. Indiana, May 2022.

Saturday’s full field qualifying is complete for the 107th Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. 

The drivers have pumped in hours of practice, but this is where it starts to truly count as the field heads into qualifying action ahead of the Indy 500 race next weekend.

This full field qualifying session, running until 5.50pm local time [10.50pm UK], will determine positions 13 to 30 on the grid, as drivers contest their four-lap runs in pursuit of the highest average speed.

2014 Indy 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay was the first to get his four-lap average on the board, coming in at 231.613 mph, while Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden and Scott McLaughlin chose to hold back and wait for ideal track conditions.

Among the big surprise strugglers from that first run was Hélio Castroneves, a scruffy four-lap effort, which included leaving a nice tyre mark on the wall, giving him an initial average of 230.410.

It was a run few had expected from the four-time Indy 500 winner, his most recent victory coming in 2021, and so plenty more was expected from the Brazilian as he settled into lane two, the drivers having the opportunity after those opening pushes to go again.

They do have a choice though, as going from the priority lane means sacrificing that first time, while lane two cars keep their time, but lose that priority access to the track.

Former Marussia F1 racer Alexander Rossi, now representing Arrow McLaren, had the average to beat.

With under 90 minutes left it was still Rossi on top, his place in the top 12 starting to look assured with top 12 qualifying coming tomorrow, while former Renault/Alpine junior Christian Lundgaard was among those at risk of failing to make today’s cut of qualified cars.

Into the final hour and business was truly picking up as Rossi’s stranglehold was no more, Felix Rosenquist needing the third-fastest Indy 500 qualifying time in history to do it.

Will Power was the driver on the cusp of making that top 12.

Further down the order, the stage was set for a battle of the Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing team-mates, Lundgaard heading out for the final run of the day, with either he or Katherine Legge to miss out on qualifying for the Indy 500 today.

And it was Lundgaard on the losing end, meaning he joins Graham Rahal, Sting Ray Robb and Jack Harvey in needing to go again in last chance qualifying tomorrow.

Rosenqvist heads the 12-driver pack ready to go to battle tomorrow, with positions 13 to 30, including former Lotus and Haas driver Romain Grosjean, now set.

To keep up to date with Sunday’s Fast 12 and Bump Day results in the fight for pole, click here. recommends

Motorsport Triple Crown explained: Its prestigious races, history and only winner

Indy 500 qualifying timings

1. Felix Rosenqvist – 233.947mph average speed
2. Alexander Rossi – 233.528
3. Alex Palou – 233.398
4. Rinus VeeKay – 233.395
5. Scott Dixon – 233.375
6. Tony Kanaan – 233.347
7. Takuma Sato – 233.322
8. Pato O’Ward 233.252
9. Santino Ferrucci 233.147
10. Marcus Ericsson 233.030
11. Benjamin Pedersen 232.739
12. Will Power 232.719
13. Ed Carpenter 232.689
14. Scott McLaughlin 232.677
15. Kyle Kirkwood 232.662
16. Conor Daly 232.433
17. Josef Newgarden 232.402
18. Ryan Hunter-Reay 232.133
19. Romain Grosjean 231.997
20. Helio Castroneves 231.954
21. Colton Herta 231.951
22. Simon Pagenaud 231.878
23. David Malukas 231.769
24. Marco Andretti 231.682
25. Stefan Wilson 231.648
26. Devlin DeFrancesco 231.353
27. Agustin Canapino 231.320
28. Callum Ilott 231.182
29. RC Enerson 231.129
30. Katherine Legge 231.070
Christian Lundgaard BUMPED
Jack Harvey BUMPED
Sting Ray Robb BUMPED
Graham Rahal BUMPED