Indy 500 results: Latest qualifying results from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Henry Valantine
Alexander Rossi in Indy 500 qualifying. May 2023.

Arrow McLaren driver Alexander Rossi takes part in Indy 500 qualifying. Indianapolis May 2023.

The Indy 500 is set for its second and final day of qualifying, with the top 12 on the grid and final row to be set on Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The Fast 12 was the first session of Sunday, and after positions 13 to 30 were set on Saturday, positions seven to 12 on the grid were set after the drivers had one four-lap run to try and put themselves into the Fast Six and the shootout for pole position.

Arrow McLaren driver Felix Rosenqvist backed up his pace from Saturday qualifying by putting himself top of the 12 runners in the first Sunday qualifying session, while three ex-Formula 1 drivers were eliminated.

Alexander Rossi and Takuma Sato will line up P7 and P8 next weekend respectively, while last year’s Indy 500 winner Marcus Ericsson will start P10.

The four last chance qualifiers followed, with only three places left to fill on the 33-car field and all three Rahal Letterman Lanigan drivers fighting it out to make it onto the grid, but just as it looked like British driver Jack Harvey would be the one to miss out, he put in one last-ditch attempt and knocked out team-mate Graham Rahal by just 0.007mph across four laps.

The fight for pole with the Fast Six would be the final action of the day, with Pato O’Ward setting the early benchmark for the rest to beat, before McLaren’s F1 reserve driver Alex Palou set a whopping 234.217mph average to lay down a gauntlet to the rest of the field.

But Rinus VeeKay went oh so close to matching the Spaniard, going just 0.006mph behind or just one hundredth of a second over the course of 10 miles’ worth of qualifying.

Rosenqvist, quickest on Saturday and in the Fast 12, was the last driver to go – he was consistent throughout his four laps, but he was not quite quick enough to knock Palou off top spot – meaning the Spaniard takes pole position for the big race next weekend. recommends

Motorsport Triple Crown explained: Its prestigious races, history and only winner

Indianapolis 500: Who are the 13 F1 drivers that have won the Indy 500?

Indy 500 2023 qualifying results

  1. Alex Palou: 234.217mph [four-lap average]
  2. Rinus VeeKay: 234.211
  3. Felix Rosenqvist: 234.114
  4. Santino Ferrucci: 233.661
  5. Pato O’Ward: 233.158
  6. Scott Dixon: 233.151
  7. Alexander Rossi: 233.110
  8. Takuma Sato: 233.098
  9. Tony Kanaan: 233.076
  10. Marcus Ericsson: 233.889
  11. Benjamin Pedersen: 232.671
  12. Will Power: 232.635
    Grid positions decided on Saturday
  13. Ed Carpenter: 232.689
  14. Scott McLaughlin: 232.677
  15. Kyle Kirkwood: 232.662
  16. Conor Daly: 232.433
  17. Josef Newgarden: 232.402
  18. Ryan Hunter-Reay: 232.133
  19. Romain Grosjean: 231.997
  20. Helio Castroneves: 231.954
  21. Colton Herta: 231.951
  22. Simon Pagenaud: 231.878
  23. David Malukas: 231.769
  24. Marco Andretti: 231.682
  25. Stefan Wilson: 231.648
  26. Devlin DeFrancesco: 231.353
  27. Callum Ilott: 231.320
  28. Agustin Canapino: 231.182
  29. R.C. Enerson: 231.129
  30. Katherine Legge: 231.070
    Last chance qualifiers
  31. Christian Lundgaard: 229.649
  32. Sting Ray Robb: 229.549
  33. Jack Harvey: 229.166

Did not qualify: Graham Rahal 229.159