Three more drivers join growing list with Italian Grand Prix grid penalties

Jon Wilde
Kevin Magnussen alongside Esteban Ocon. Miami May 2022.

Kevin Magnussen's Haas alongside Esteban Ocon's Alpine. Miami May 2022.

Esteban Ocon and Haas duo Kevin Magnussen and Mick Schumacher have joined the lengthy list of drivers who will have grid penalties for the Italian Grand Prix.

The race at Monza is emulating the Belgian round of the World Championship two weeks previously, which ended up with not one driver starting the race in the position where they had qualified.

Nine drivers have now incurred penalties for exceeding the permitted number of power-unit parts this season, with Schumacher the latest to join them.

Just as the final free practice session was getting under way, Alpine confirmed Ocon will be taking a new Internal Combustion Engine (ICE) which means a five-place grid penalty.

That is among the lesser sanctions that have been dished out so far, ranking alongside the five places Max Verstappen will also be pushed back for the same reason.

The World Champion’s Red Bull team-mate, Sergio Perez, is facing a 10-place grid drop for he is also taking a new ICE, with this being the Mexican’s fourth engine of the season and therefore incurring a bigger penalty.

Magnussen, meanwhile, has been hit with a 15-place penalty for a new ICE, turbo and MGU-H in the Haas, while Schumacher drops the same number of positions for a gearbox change and new ICE.

That means they join Alfa Romeo’s Valtteri Bottas with that level of sanction, while the other three drivers to have racked up penalties so far will all be starting from the back of the grid.

They are Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton, Ferrari’s Carlos Sainz and AlphaTauri’s Yuki Tsunoda.

Tsunoda has accumulated three separate penalties for the weekend – for exceeding the number of power-unit parts, 10 places for reaching the threshold of five reprimands that triggers a grid penalty and another three places for failing to slow down for yellow flags during Friday practice.

Here’s our at-a-glance list of the Italian Grand Prix grid penalties, which will be added to if others are announced:

Max Verstappen (Red Bull) – 5 places
Esteban Ocon (Alpine) – 5 places
Sergio Perez (Red Bull) – 10 places
Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo) – 15 places
Kevin Magnussen (Haas) – 15 places
Mick Schumacher (Haas) – 15 places
Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) – back of the grid
Carlos Sainz (Ferrari) – back of the grid
Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri) – back of the grid